Monday, November 05, 2018

The International Mixed Martial Arts Federation (IMMAF) and World Mixed Martial Arts Association (WMMAA) announced the first wave of nominees for the 2018 Amateur MMA Awards, as public voting opens for the Green Hill Best Performance of the Year Award. The inaugural awards ceremony will take place on November 15 at the ART Rotana Hotel & Resort, Manama, Bahrain, during the 2018 IMMAF-WMMAA Unified World Championships.

This prestigious occasion aims at global recognition for the achievements of amateur mixed martial artists, national federations and the men and women working hard to develop MMA as a world-recognized sport of excellence.

The invitation-only, black-tie awards dinner is exclusively for IMMAF delegates, national federation presidents, award nominees, and special guests. The evening will be hosted by British MMA journalist and MyNextMatch Communication Officer, Andreas Georgiou, and promises entertainment and special guest appearances.

Award categories are separated into three blocks with the newly announced nominations as follows:

Block C - Public vote

Green Hill Performance of the Year (for best performance in a single bout)
 Frida Vastamäki [Sweden] (vs. Joanne Doyle, 2018 Euros)
 Ryan Spillane [Ireland] (vs. Matias Anttila, 2018 Euros)
 Benjamin Bennett [USA] (vs. Pat Hamer, 2017 Worlds)
 Björn Lukas Haraldsson [Iceland] (vs. Joseph Luciano, 2017 Worlds)
 Jenni Kivoijja [Finland] (vs. Jessica Forslund Reis, 2018 Euros)

Changing Lives in MMA Award
Nominees to be announced and public voting to commence shortly

Block A - Member Vote
To be voted on by IMMAF-WMMAA members in attendance at the 2018 World Championships during
registration. Each nation will have ONE vote.

House of Fragrance Best Female Athlete

 Anna Astvik (Sweden)
2017 World Champion (strawweight)
2018 European Open Champion (strawweight)

 Julia Dorny (Germany)
2018 European Open Champion (featherweight)
2017 World Bronze Medallist (lightweight)

 Joanne Doyle (United Kingdom)
2018 European Open Silver Medallist (bantamweight),
2017 World Bronze Medallist (bantamweight)

 Fabiana Giampa (Italy)
2017 World Champion (featherweight)
2018 European Open Bronze Medallist (featherweight)

 Gase Sanita (New Zealand)
2017 World Champion (lightweight)

House of Fragrance Best Male Athlete

 Murtaza Talha Ali (Bahrain)
2017 World Champion (light-heavyweight)
2018 European Open Champion (light-heavyweight)

 Joseph Luciano (Australia)
2018 Africa Open Champion (middleweight)
2017 World Bronze Medallist (middleweight)

 Irman Smajic (Sweden)
2017 World Champion (heavyweight)

 Sola Axel (France)
2018 European Open Champion (welterweight)
2017 World Silver Medallist (welterweight)

 Dario Bellandi (Italy)
2018 European Open Champion
2017 World Championships Quarter-Finalist

National Team of the Year

 Sweden
 Bulgaria
 Bahrain
 Italy

Host Federation of the Year

 Bahrain Mixed Martial Arts Federation
 International Mixed Martial Arts Federation of Australia
 Mixed Martial Arts South Africa
 Romanian Mixed Martial Arts Federation

Block B - IMMAF -WMMAA & Partner Awards

 Official of the Year (elected by IMMAF Head Official & Head of Regulatory Affairs, Marc
 Cutman/ Cutwoman of the Year (elected by Cutman Educator and Coordinator, Joe
 MyNextMatch Award of Excellence (elected by MyNextMatch)