World Series of Fighting 8

World Series of Fighting 8 - Mixed Martial Arts (MMA) Event on January 18, 2014 in Hollywood, Florida USA

Undefeated lightweights Justin Gaethje and Lewis Gonzalez headline World Series of Fighting 8 on Jan. 18 for inaugural lightweight belt LAS VEGAS (Dec. 2013) - Justin Gaethje (10-0) will face a dangerous Lewis Gonzalez (9-0) for the World Series of Fighting's inaugural lightweight title in the Jan. 18 event titled "World Series of Fighting 8: Gaethje vs. Gonzalez," which takes place at the Seminole Hard Rock Hotel & Casino in Hollywood, Fla. The co-main event features hard-hitting light-heavyweights Anthony "Rumble" Johnson (15-4) and Mike "MAK" Kyle (20-10-1) will meet in a bout that has been postponed twice due to injuries. The highly anticipated fight, now almost a year in the making,is sure to produce an absolute explosion in the decagon. "This past year has been incredible for World Series of Fighting, and I'm proud to be able to carry that success over in the start of 2014 with this incredible lightweight title fight," World Series of Fighting President Ray Sefo said. "I know that both of these guys have great wrestling backgrounds, but their striking is so impressive. I can't wait for this one." The 25-year-old Gaethje is a member of Colorado's Grudge Training Center and has already earned World Series of Fighting wins over Dan Lauzon, Brian Cobb and Cavalcante. Fighting professionally since 2011, Gaethje is undefeated in his first 10 career fights, and nine of those have ended via stoppage, including eight by knockout. "I think some of my toughest fights have been against wrestlers, and I know that's where my opponent is strong," Gaethje said of his new adversary. "He also has a ton of heart. I see this fight being action-packed from the second the cage door shuts until one of us gets the finish. "I don't think there is any way this one goes five rounds. I see a lot of opportunities for some big kicks and knees, and I give my word to the World Series of Fighting fans that Lewis and I will give them one hell of a show." Turlock, California's "Lethal" Lewis Gonzalez is a top prospect in the sport training with the MMAGOLD Fight Team. Gonzalez was impressive in his World Series of Fighting debut this past August, when he beat established fight veteran Antonio McKee. Gonzalez has won seven of his nine fights by stoppage and saw three of his five submission victims tap due to strikes. "I'm honored by the opportunity to get in there and bang for the lightweight title," Gonzalez said. "Justin is a tough competitor and a great wrestler. You can expect both of us to be coming forward the whole time and meet somewhere in the middle." With the addition to the card, World Series of Fighting 8 now includes: Justin Gaethje vs. Lewis Gonzalez for inaugural lightweight title Anthony Johnson vs. Mike Kyle Cody Bollinger vs. Tyson Nam Tickets for "World Series of Fighting 8: Gaethje vs. Gonzalez," start at just $29, and are on sale at The bout tops a five-fight card that airs live on NBCSN at 9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT. A four-fight undercard, which will stream live at, will be announced shortly. About "World Series of Fighting" (WSOF) "World Series of Fighting" (WSOF) is a professional Mixed Martial Arts (MMA) fight promotion dedicated to delivering an incredible, action-packed entertainment experience for fight fans by producing the best possible match-ups between elite fighters from around the globe. For more information please visit Follow "World Series of Fighting" on Twitter @MMAWorldSeries and "World Series of Fighting" President Ray Sefo @SugarRaySefo.

Directions: SEMINOLE HARD ROCK HOTEL & CASINO HARD ROCK LIVE THEATER 1 Seminole Way Hollywood, Florida 33314

Justin Gaethje vs. Richard Patishnock  
Justin Gaethje
Richard Patishnock
Anthony Johnson vs. Mike Kyle
Anthony Johnson
Mike Kyle
Jessica Aguilar vs. Alida Yvette Gray  
Jessica Aguilar
Alida Yvette Gray
Tyson Nam vs. Cody Bollinger
Tyson Nam
Cody Bollinger
Valdir Araujo vs. Tyler Stinson
Valdir Araujo
Tyler Stinson
Derrick Mehmen vs. Scott Barrett
Derrick Mehmen
Scott Barrett
Luis Palomino vs. Jorge Patino
Luis Palomino
Jorge Patino
Alexis Vila vs. Sedico Honorio
Alexis Vila
Sedico Honorio
Brenson Hansen vs. Freddy Assuncao
Brenson Hansen
Freddy Assuncao
Jose Caceres vs. Anderson Melo
Jose Caceres
Anderson Melo