AcademicGround Applying for Grad school with a weak GPA - advice?

4/1/17 12:58 PM
2/16/05

Hey all - so I've decided to pull the trigger and try and get into a grad program.  I work in healthcare and have access to a program through the local medical school to do research into a healthcare related topic.  Pretty excited and have had a couple of good meetings with the group over there from the admins up to the head of the department and I even have a person interested in supervising me.  Everyone is encouraging me to apply.

Problem is two fold - the first is that because I worked through Uni to pay for it I took longer than the standard 4 years and the second is that due to working two jobs close to full time and school and some family issues my GPA sucks... like 2.3/2.5 sucks.  I have moments of brilliance on my transcripts (including some really tough classes) but no consistency.  

I graduated in '99 so Uni is 18yrs behind me and I have a pretty solid career to point to including presenting original ideas at conferences and some co-authoring credits.

How do I offset a weak GPA?  Do I worry about it given how long ago it was?

Thanks.

4/3/17 8:05 PM
4/7/16

Since your GPA is from 1999, it is really only a matter of what you do from here forward. Sounds like you are doing the right things by getting to know people and making sure that the faculty on on board. I assume you have been admitted. If so, you are set. The GPA does not carry over. Do not worry about the GPA and just work to prove yourself. 

4/30/17 3:40 PM
2/16/05
chepo77 -

Since your GPA is from 1999, it is really only a matter of what you do from here forward. Sounds like you are doing the right things by getting to know people and making sure that the faculty on on board. I assume you have been admitted. If so, you are set. The GPA does not carry over. Do not worry about the GPA and just work to prove yourself.