What if ... 2013 World MMA Award winners

2/8/14 9:05 AM
Posts: 13879

2013 World MMA Award winners


2013 World MMA Awards
Venetian and Palazzo Resort, Hotel & Casinos
Las Vegas, Nevada

Lifetime Achievement Award
Royce Gracie

Charles “Mask” Lewis Fighter of the Year
Chris Weidman
Vitor Belfort
Urijah Faber
Demetrious Johnson
Cain Velasquez

Female Fighter of the Year
Ronda Ronda
Joanne Calderwood
Alexis Davis
Jessica Eye
Holly Holm

Breakthrough Fighter of the Year
Travis Browne
T.J. Grant
Conor McGregor
Nick Newell
Khabib Nurmagomedov

International Fighter of the Year
Alexander Gustafsson

Shinya Aoki
Conor McGregor
Khabib Nurmagomedov
Alexander Shlemenko

Fight of the Year
Jon Jones vs. Alexander Gustafsson (UFC 165)
Wanderlei Silva vs. Brian Stann (UFC on Fuel TV 8)
Michael Chandler vs. Eddie Alvarez II (Bellator 106)
Gilbert Melendez vs. Diego Sanchez (UFC 166)
Mark Hunt vs. Antonio Silva (UFC Fight Night 33)

Knockout of the Year
Vitor Belfort, vs. Luke Rockhold (UFC on FX 8)
Junior Dos Santos, vs. Mark Hunt (UFC 160)
3. Emanuel Newton, vs. “King Mo” Lawal (Bellator 90)
4. Julio Cesar Neves Jr., vs. Dener Dos Santos (WOCS 28)
5. Chris Weidman, vs. Anderson Silva (UFC 162)

Submission of the Year
Urijah Faber, vs. Ivan Menjivar (UFC 157)
Olivier Fontaine, vs. Sofian Benchohra (Lyon FC)
Josh Burkman, vs. Jon Fitch (WSOF 3)
Rose Namajunas, vs. Kathina Catron (Invicta 5)
Kenny Robertson, vs. Brock Jardine (UFC 157)

Comeback of the Year
Travis Browne
, vs. Alistair Overeem (UFC Fight Night 26)
Blagoi Ivanov (career)
Robbie Lawler (career)
Michelle Waterson, vs. Jessica Penne (Invicta 5)
Tom Watson, vs. Stanislav Nedkov (UFC on Fuel TV 7)

Shawn Tompkins Coach of the Year
Duane Ludwig
Henri Hooft
Ray Longo
Andre Pederneiras
Duke Roufus

Gym of the Year
Team Alpha Male
Jackson-Winkeljohn MMA
Nova Uniao

Trainer of the Year
Mike Dolce
Doug Balzarini
Jake Bonacci
Jonathan Chaimberg
Joel Jamieson

Referee of the Year
Herb Dean
Marc Goddard
Yves Lavigne
John McCarthy
Mario Yamasaki

Ringcard Girl of the Year
Brittney Palmer

Jade Bryce
Arianny Celeste
Kat Kelley
Mercedes Terrell

Leading Man
Victor Cui
Lorenzo Fertitta
Bjorn Rebney
Ray Sefo

Personality of the Year
Chael Sonnen

Bruce Buffer
Kenny Florian
Joe Rogan
Bas Rutten

Best Promotion
Bellator MMA
Cage Warriors

Best Lifestyle Clothing
Bad Boy

Fear the Fighter
Roots of Fight

Best Technical Clothing

Bad Boy
Clinch Gear

Best Technical Equipment
Bad Boy

Media Source of the Year
MMA Fighting

Inside MMA (AXS TV)
UFC Tonight (Fox Sports)

Journalist of the Year
Ariel Helwani (MMA Fighting/Fox Sports)
Mike Chiappetta (Fox Sports)
Gareth A Davies (The Daily Telegraph/Fox Sports)
Ben Fowlkes (USA TODAY/MMAjunkie)
John Morgan (USA TODAY/MMAjunkie)

Edited: 2/8/14 9:15 AM
Posts: 1452
LMAO @ Dana White winning leading man. They should name it "UFC awards", because it's obviously little more than a UFC promo show.

Even more hilarious, an instigating tabloid schmuck like Ariel winning. Wow, and you wonder why MMA journalism isn't taken seriously. It's like putting out "Magazine Excellence" awards and giving it to Playboy every year because the editors/voters can't get enough of naked chicks, with actual journalism taking a back seat.