UnderGround Forum >> Possible fake Black Belt
| 12/19/10 8:25 PM | |
mmaguy30
149
Member Since: 6/16/07 Posts: 3414 |
ok boys... I am now in a FB conversation with Dave Lang... will post as it continues... |
| 12/19/10 8:26 PM | |
mmaguy30
149
Member Since: 6/16/07 Posts: 3415 |
David Lang December 19 at 8:24pm Report Olá, eu sei que você? Phil Gizzi December 19 at 8:24pm English? David Lang December 19 at 8:25pm Report sorry... do know you? Phil Gizzi December 19 at 8:25pm I am from Ithica, live in SC now, moving back soon and found your gym online... I train at Relson gracie MB... looking for a place to train. |
| 12/19/10 8:29 PM | |
Dougie
420
Member Since: 8/20/03 Posts: 85634 |
Subbed 'cause this will get good. |
| 12/19/10 8:30 PM | |
mmaguy30
149
Member Since: 6/16/07 Posts: 3416 |
This dudes FB says he is From Buenos Aires, Argentina, that ad anything to his possible credability? |
| 12/19/10 8:31 PM | |
mmaguy30
149
Member Since: 6/16/07 Posts: 3417 |
David Lang December 19 at 8:29pm sim ! langmma.com sorry i only let family and friends on my page. Phil Gizzi December 19 at 8:30pm ok... could you tell me anything about the gym? |
| 12/19/10 8:34 PM | |
|
goggs2009
Member Since: 10/6/09 Posts: 2600 |
^ lol |
| 12/19/10 8:36 PM | |
NCAA92
44
Member Since: 7/21/05 Posts: 2357 |
It's IthAca |
| 12/19/10 8:38 PM | |
mmaguy30
149
Edited: 12/19/10 8:40 PM Member Since: 6/16/07 Posts: 3418 |
Dave Lang at 8:36pm The web site does better at that, www.langmma.com what would you like to know? Home www.langmma.com MMA and world Class Brazilian Jiu Jitsu in Ithaca NY. Share Phil Gizzi December 19 at 8:37pm I am a blue belt working on my purple. very close. I just took 2 golds at the Gracie Nationals and won 3 golds at the SC state tounament. I have my sights set on the Bud Cup jan 29... My primary focus is on BJJ, but I have fought before and want to fight again... do yu have a good BJJ program? |
| 12/19/10 8:41 PM | |
NCAA92
44
Member Since: 7/21/05 Posts: 2358 |
Checked Lang's Facebook it says he went to Cortland (I wrestled there) |
| 12/19/10 8:41 PM | |
MentaL
351
Member Since: 1/12/07 Posts: 4241 |
woohoo. |
| 12/19/10 8:46 PM | |
mmaguy30
149
Member Since: 6/16/07 Posts: 3419 |
David Lang December 19 at 8:41pm Report AAre school is a gappling and bjj school. We allso teach muay thai and mma....but i have been practing bjj for 15 years and judo jiu jitsu for 19 years. T Sent via Facebook Mobile David Lang December 19 at 8:41pm Report Ahe team of guys we have compete have taken 1st at naga and other events. you prefer gi we do gi and thats where my heart is Sent via Facebook Mobile Phil Gizzi December 19 at 8:45pm I only really care about the gi... the sight says you have a black belt ...for real? |
| 12/19/10 8:52 PM | |
mmaguy30
149
Member Since: 6/16/07 Posts: 3420 |
David Lang December 19 at 8:46pm Report yes my self. did you not read the site? my friend this is funny. Phil Gizzi December 19 at 8:50pm I saw it but so many people list stuff like that... many fakes out there. Like i said, I train under Relson Gracie, easy to know thats legit... You got your BB from Wallid Ismail, thats awesome... When did you become a BB? |
| 12/19/10 8:52 PM | |
mmaguy30
149
Member Since: 6/16/07 Posts: 3421 |
For the record... there is a chance this guy is legit... |
| 12/19/10 8:57 PM | |
mmaguy30
149
Member Since: 6/16/07 Posts: 3422 |
David Lang December 19 at 8:54pm Report I train under master ismail and master couto. i born in argentina and moved to campinas brasil when i was 5 years old with my family Sent via Facebook Mobile This looking like the guy may be legit... |
| 12/19/10 9:03 PM | |
|
EggzOverEazy
Member Since: 12/15/10 Posts: 5 |
well then that makes this shit even funnier |
| 12/19/10 9:19 PM | |
mmaguy30
149
Member Since: 6/16/07 Posts: 3423 |
This dude is legit, just confirmed it. He got the belt in Brazil. I just sent him the following... Sir, I am going to be honest and direct with you. Recently your website was found by a few online sites, namely Bullshido and mixedmartialarts.com Many people who post on those sites think that you may be a "fake black belt" and or someone who has not earned a black belt. these people are questioning the legitimacy of your belt under Master ismail. In the past I have been part of a group that has "outed" several of these fakes, and exposed the truth about their fake belts and false claims. There is quite an uproar over you right now. The biggest reason is that next to nothing exists on the internet about your BB under ismail. Furthermore, because of your very american sounding name, it has been assumed that you are an american, (I think incorrectly...) and there are no known BB under Ismail who are American. After just a bit of research I personally now believe you are in fact "legit" and would like to help out here. Below are links to the 2 sites were this controversy has come up. I invite you to visit, and please join www.mma.tv as a member so that you can post there, and tell us a bit more about yourself and your background. i think there will be a few apologies offered up, I think they may be certainly owed to you. With all respect, I am sure you know there are many "fakes" out there making outrageous claims about there BJJ rank and history. Because of the lack of info out there, many jumped to conclusions. I would really like to see you visit the site and say a few words. Please understand that after our conversation here and some other quick checking, I feel you are completely legitimate, and would love to see you become a part of the community, or at least put this issue to rest. Please also understand I mean no disrespect at all... most sincerely and respectfully, Phil http://www.bullshido.net/forums/showthread.php?t=102118 http://www.mixedmartialarts.com/mma.cfm?go=forum_framed.posts&forum=1&thread=1744492&page=1&pc=158 |
| 12/19/10 9:21 PM | |
gibboau
4
Member Since: 9/15/10 Posts: 216 |
Would be funny if the OP is actually using this to advertise that there's a Wallid BB training in Ithaca now. I want to move there.
|
| 12/19/10 9:27 PM | |
|
Alumynabjj
Member Since: 12/15/09 Posts: 575 |
Wow, that totally caught me by surprise. I thought he was just a white dude from the East coast. LOL. Ok, I will say offer my apologies since I brought this mess to the board. |
| 12/19/10 9:29 PM | |
mmaguy30
149
Member Since: 6/16/07 Posts: 3424 |
It looks like this guy is for real. I am glad that nothing to crazy happened. I just got a msg back from a guy that trains with his cousin in Brazil and he vouches for him... I have another source that confrims he is NOT american as many assumed, (the name made me think he was american too...) I think we all jumped the gun a bit here... if anything I did or said was disrespectful I apologize! he just sent this: David Lang December 19 at 9:24pm Report Phil thank you for being truthful with me. my family in brasil and my two masters in jiu jitsu will speak on my behalf if need be. i am a man that has faith in God. he will vindicate me. I teach BJJ to help the weak because that is what i was called to do. Some day when i have time i will visit these sites of web. anyone is welcome at my academy. my masters will say only good of me....if they need speak. Phil Gizzi December 19 at 9:27pm I appreciate your understanding. Your response further tells me that you are indeed what you claim to be, and it speaks volumes for you as not only a jiu jitsu practitioner, but as a man. I wish you and your new gym all the luck in the world and may you and your family enjoy a merry Christmas and happy new year. |
| 12/19/10 9:30 PM | |
Jump Kick
24
Member Since: 1/1/01 Posts: 11785 |
Phil, if you're near manhattan, message me, I have a copy of the NY Press with Darrow/Funaro for you. I'm going to be in New Jersey tomorrow until about 7:30 PM and might have to go back to NJ again on tuesday. Let me know. -jk |
| 12/19/10 9:34 PM | |
mmaguy30
149
Member Since: 6/16/07 Posts: 3425 |
We are leaving SC tomorrow morning and running 95 up to Baltimore, then up into pa... Staying in York, then running 81 up to Binghamton, then 88 to Albany, 87 to p-burgh Im not getting anywere near NYC or Jersey... Thanks for that though...I will PM my address, I would love to have a copy... How did it come out? post it here? |
| 12/19/10 9:38 PM | |
|
shermbe
Member Since: 8/13/10 Posts: 183 |
what happened to real journalism? |
| 12/19/10 9:38 PM | |
KC007
251
Member Since: 3/4/10 Posts: 1100 |
TTT. Good work MMAGUY. |
| 12/19/10 9:48 PM | |
mmaguy30
149
Member Since: 6/16/07 Posts: 3426 |
You guys think I should ask for a peepeetaste video? |
| 12/19/10 10:02 PM | |
mmaguy30
149
Member Since: 6/16/07 Posts: 3427 |
He moved to Brazil at age 5 |
Reply Post
You must log in to post a reply. Click here to login.



