Refresh | Add To Favorites | Share | Email | Subscribe | Check IPs
 


Jon Jones to Protest Loss


[ 1 ] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
From: Crazy Zimmerman 301 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile
Posted: 12/8/09 12:36 PM
Member Since: 1/1/01
Posts: 52859
 
 I hear from Bones' management that he is unhappy with the loss and will protest.  I am going to get on a conference call with them in a few minutes.  They feel that Jones should at least get an NC on this.  Due to the W being taken away, he did not get a win bonus and was out of the running for fight of the night and/or ko of the night. 

Potentially a lot of money gone.  I'll have some quotes from his manager here in a bit.

From: Meohfumado 315 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile
Posted: 12/8/09 12:37 PM
Member Since: 6/22/09
Posts: 1297
 
Even if he protests he's still out of that money, though right?

About the only thing I can see him getting out of this is the L removed from his record and moved to a NC.

From: humphrey sphinctermuscle Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile
Posted: 12/8/09 12:37 PM
Member Since: 5/18/09
Posts: 2802
 
goooooood luck.

the commission just instituted the replay rule, and it was used for the first time in that match. there is no way in hell they'll discredit it, and overturn the dq.

not to mention it was the correct call.

never going to happen

From: Crazy Zimmerman 301 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile
Posted: 12/8/09 12:39 PM
Member Since: 1/1/01
Posts: 52861
 
 I can see why he'd want to protest though.  It's an option available to him and the loss does hurt, so it makes sense.

From: Kakkarotto_san Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile
Posted: 12/8/09 12:40 PM
Member Since: 1/1/01
Posts: 8169
 
Yeah, but he cheated to win.

It doesn't really matter that he dominated. He cheated and the results of his cheating caused serious damage to his opponent. His opponent could not continue fighting based upon, at least in huge part, his CHEATING.

So, if you want to reward CHEATERS, then they should overturn the ruling and set the precedent that cheating will get you no punishment.

Maybe he shouldn't have cheated, and then he would have won the fight fairly and gotten his win bonus.

From: Bill Pharoni 27 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile
Posted: 12/8/09 12:41 PM
Member Since: 6/28/07
Posts: 8865
 
He should definitely protest it as a formality. Personally though I think it's best to move on though. He has a big future in the business, imo.

From: SecondBase 17 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile
Posted: 12/8/09 12:43 PM
Member Since: 3/13/02
Posts: 7534
 
I guess it doesn't hurt to lodge a protest. Although I seriously doubt anything will come of it.

From: Magnetic 186 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile
Posted: 12/8/09 12:43 PM
Magnetic Marketing Associates, President
Member Since: 9/6/06
Posts: 1904
 
Let's be clear, Jon is not "unhappy" he feels as all things happen for a reason. We are protesting the L because we felt that Jon's opponent could not effectively communicate why he could not continue.

The rules state that an intentional foul and that the fighter cannot continue based on injury sustained from the foul. Hamill could not contnue due to a broken shoulder.

Jon should have been deducted a point for the accidental illegal blow. Matt should have been treated like we treat the Brazilians and given 5 minutes to regroup and offered a translator so the ref could make the right call and understand Matt could not continue due to his shoulder injury not the blow.

This should be a NC for both fighters but not a loss. Hammil continued with an injured Shoulder and only complained once the action was stopped (warrior) but the fight was stopped based on the shoulder injury in our opinion.

From: humphrey sphinctermuscle Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile
Posted: 12/8/09 12:43 PM
Member Since: 5/18/09
Posts: 2803
 
Crazy Zimmerman -  I can see why he'd want to protest though.  It's an option available to him and the loss does hurt, so it makes sense.

lol tell BJ penn that.

sometimes it's bed to just take your medicine and shut up

From: Crazy Zimmerman 301 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile
Posted: 12/8/09 12:44 PM
Member Since: 1/1/01
Posts: 52863
 
 Kak, he threw an UNintentional elbow.  How is that cheating?

From: GMan99 61 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile
Posted: 12/8/09 12:46 PM
Member Since: 3/23/02
Posts: 5219
 
I'd say let it slide. Jon lost no face, even with the loss. He is poised for bigger opportunities, not lesser, as a result. Why cause aggravation for the promoter, who has shown himself to be vindictive in certain circumstances?

From: Derrick Noble 1 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile
Posted: 12/8/09 12:46 PM
Member Since: 5/20/02
Posts: 895
 
I agree that Hammil couldn't continue due to the shoulder, but I think Jones threw 2 or 3 of the downward elbows in a row, not just one accidental.

From: Derrick Noble 1 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile
Posted: 12/8/09 12:46 PM
Member Since: 5/20/02
Posts: 896
 
I agree No Contest.

From: breakit Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile
Posted: 12/8/09 12:48 PM
Member Since: 1/1/01
Posts: 7639
 
Magnetic - Let's be clear, Jon is not "unhappy" he feels as all things happen for a reason. We are protesting the L because we felt that Jon's opponent could not effectively communicate why he could not continue.

The rules state that an intentional foul and that the fighter cannot continue based on injury sustained from the foul. Hamill could not contnue due to a broken shoulder.

Jon should have been deducted a point for the accidental illegal blow. Matt should have been treated like we treat the Brazilians and given 5 minutes to regroup and offered a translator so the ref could make the right call and understand Matt could not continue due to his shoulder injury not the blow.

This should be a NC for both fighters but not a loss. Hammil continued with an injured Shoulder and only complained once the action was stopped (warrior) but the fight was stopped based on the shoulder injury in our opinion.
Not just your opinion.  Matt even said it in the interview.
 

From: JimmersonzGlove 539 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile
Posted: 12/8/09 12:49 PM
Member Since: 6/5/05
Posts: 21157
 
 Jones was overheard telling the instant replay monitor to "stop snitchin."

From: Crazy Zimmerman 301 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile
Posted: 12/8/09 12:49 PM
Member Since: 1/1/01
Posts: 52868
 
 I think there's enough evidence there to get an NC.  But time will tell.

From: Kakkarotto_san Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile
Posted: 12/8/09 12:55 PM
Member Since: 1/1/01
Posts: 8170
 
Crazy Zimmerman -  Kak, he threw an UNintentional elbow.  How is that cheating?


They were not unintentional. In fact, he admitted in the post fight conference that he did it because he was trying to get a different angle on his elbows.

You don't "accidentally" throw 4 vertical 12-6 elbows. They were 100% with intent.

From: JOB 119 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile
Posted: 12/8/09 12:58 PM
Member Since: 1/22/05
Posts: 16506
 
He won the fight, but lost the contest. Them's the rules.

From: saerbarnet Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile
Posted: 12/8/09 12:59 PM
Member Since: 7/19/09
Posts: 393
 
Crazy Zimmerman -  Kak, he threw an UNintentional elbow.  How is that cheating?


How in holy fuck was that UNINTENTIONAL? He didn't mean to hit Matt Hammill in the face with it from full mount? He didn't mean to lift his elbow in a 12-6 motion? He accidentally hit him more than once with the exact same shot?
The only excuse that might be true is that he didn't know and thus did it because of that, but that still would be a DQ cause it wasn't like it was a low kick attempt that accidentally hit someone in the balls or something, It was obvious he was going for the face with the elbows and it was obvious that it was 12-6 which is illegal.

Fact is, he broke the rules and he got DQ'd


And Magnetic:

"The rules state that an intentional foul and that the fighter cannot continue based on injury sustained from the foul. Hamill could not contnue due to a broken shoulder."

Not really what happened now is it? Watch the fight instead of basing it on the interview after it, Mazzagatti stopped the fight because Matt was non-responsive on the floor in a bloody heap after recieving the (illegal and obviously intentional) elbows to the face.

From: BJJkilla 12 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile
Posted: 12/8/09 1:01 PM
Member Since: 6/29/09
Posts: 1936
 
if johnson couldn't get his Loss to burns overturned, i don't see how jones can get a NC.

From: goku Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile
Posted: 12/8/09 1:02 PM
Member Since: 8/6/08
Posts: 6699
 
 good call...hammill wasnt able to continue due to the shoulder, not the elbows...according to the rules, it should not be a DQ

From: likatiga 115 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile
Posted: 12/8/09 1:03 PM
Member Since: 9/15/07
Posts: 581
 
dun datta - jon jones made his bed, now he has to lay in it

laws are there for a reason, if you smoke pot or throw an illegal elbow, you need to accept consequences of your actions and take responsibility for your choices

I hope AC tells him to get lost


I see what you did there and i like it.

Jon and his management should take the loss for what it is. If Jon did not throw the illegal elbows, the fight would have been stopped naturally and he would have a win. Instead, he threw illegal elbows and lost as a result of his actions. Lodging a complaint makes him seem like a hypocrite.

Also, replace "illegal elbows" with "headbutt", what would you say then?

From: tdunning 12 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile
Posted: 12/8/09 1:04 PM
Edited: 12/08/09 1:04 PM
Member Since: 6/22/07
Posts: 553
 
Matt was non-responsive because he likely had no idea anyone was trying to communicate with him.Also, for someone who knows better than I, who actually makes the decisions with the appeals process? Is there any chance it goes to an arbitrator, or does the decision simply lie with the athletic commission?

From: Kakkarotto_san Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile
Posted: 12/8/09 1:05 PM
Member Since: 1/1/01
Posts: 8171
 
goku -  good call...hammill wasnt able to continue due to the shoulder, not the elbows...according to the rules, it should not be a DQ



How can you prove that? Hamill, being unable to communicate this to the referee due to being both blind and deaf at that moment, could not have possibly indicated what exactly caused him to be unable to finish.

So what are you basing that off? The reality is that it is a huge assumption and you can't say one way or another.

From: BlackEddy Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile
Posted: 12/8/09 1:08 PM
Member Since: 11/18/09
Posts: 2
 
Regardless of why Hammill couldn't continue, there is no question that Jones threw illegal strikes. Jones is a pro fighter and should know the rules...if he didn't before this match he sure does now. He should STFU and take his loss like a man: any management that suggst otherwise is not looking out for his long term interests and merely intrested in trying to grab more money.

Refresh | Add To Favorites | Share | Email | Subscribe | Check IPs
 

[ 1 ] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

Reply Post

You must log in to post a reply. Click here to login.

Shop | Contact Us | Advertising | Create Account | Links