UFC 127 referee Marc Goddard:
“When a fighter is fouled [groin shot, eye poke, head kick/knee when grounded etc] untentionally or otherwise it is not as simple as a straight DQ. Fighters get the chance to recuperate and recover unless it a straight fight ending scenario ie KO, cut, broken bone, dislocation etc. Doctors are called for an expert medical opinion and assessment.
“Fighters are, should, and must be asked the question "can you continue?" - this is to judge coherency and to give that fighter the option of not fighting on due to the foul that they have been subject to… I have had plenty of fighters choose not to continue. This, in the event of an intentional foul, awards them the DQ win.”
“If when Jorge was asked the question he said no, or I judged him as unsteady or in my experience unable to continue then the fight is waved off and he would have been awarded the win via DQ. Exactly the same steps, method and application should the foul have been the other way around would have been applied.
“Jorge was taken to the hospital immediately after his fight. He was released straight away after being again seen by doctors and there was no concussion incurred.”
Read entire article...
Related MMA gear from the UG Store