Oliveira would trade bonus for victory

by Guilherme Cruz | source: tatame.com

At UFC on Versus 4, Charles Oliveira was awarded a submission victory for tapping out Nik Lentz with a rear naked choke at 1:48 of Round 2. However, the win came after what appeared to be a textbook illegal knee, that was missed by referee Chip Snider. The Pennsylvania SAC will review tape and determine whether the ruling should be overturned in favor of a "No Contest." Below Oliveira comments on the potential change in decision.

“I didn’t realize he was still (with a knee) on the ground… At the heat of the moment, I wanted to knock him out or submit him,” Oliveira told TATAME. “The knee landed and the referee didn’t stop the fight, then I hit him again with another knee. The first one was illegal, but it didn’t hti him on the jaw, and he kept fighting, trying to take me down. The second one actually hurt him."

“We’re just waiting,” Oliveira added. “I left that in God’s hands, but I think it won’t happen (they won’t change the result). He didn’t go out, he kept on the fight and stood up, then he felt the second knee. There’s no reason to not give me the victory."

“I’m just waiting for the victory. If I could change the bonus for the victory, I would”.

Charles’ trainer Ericson Cardozo is confident that the result won’t change.

“It was the referee’s mistake, who didn’t stop the fight,” he said. “He should have stop the fight, give Lentz 5 minutes to rest and deduct a point from Charles, then the fight would go on”

Read entire article...


tags: UFC on Versus 4   Charles Oliveira (detail)  Nik Lentz (detail)  


Get the MMA Underground app. for iPhone and Andriod devices.
iPhone Application Andriod MMA Underground Application

Recent Comments »

ranier wolfcastle site profile image  

6/28/11 11:57 AM by ranier wolfcastle

 1st knee really hurt him 4 sure, the illegal 1

CODELMJVG site profile image  

6/28/11 10:03 AM by CODELMJVG

Kind of refreshing to see a knee in american MMA and utilize perfect. Point up for why some tools should be utilize to finish. You got 4 limps why not use all of it. Restricted to max

reddsharkk site profile image  

6/28/11 1:45 AM by reddsharkk

It was a fight called due to an illegal strike, and was also incompetent reffing. it remains a dq loss for jones. People saying it wouldn't have been dq loss if the ref noticed are insane. A doc would have called it I imagine.. The argument of should we have knees is a different one from what would have happened had the ref seen.

john kirby do site profile image  

6/28/11 1:41 AM by john kirby do

should be a DQ or NC, that was absolute BS

Kanabull site profile image  

6/28/11 1:27 AM by Kanabull

If I remember correctly, the ref asked Hamill if he could continue and Hamill didn't answer because he's deaf and his eyes were filled with blood.

Radford Martel site profile image  

6/28/11 1:20 AM by Radford Martel

I missed this fight!Was it shown on the main card?

DamnSevern site profile image  

6/27/11 7:30 PM by DamnSevern

 I kneed marijuana


6/27/11 7:22 PM by K-Dub-"T"

 There was definitely another knee after, which was legal. Watch it again.  The bonus was for fight of the night which they both got. I think Kongo Barry should have gotten that.

likatiga site profile image  

6/27/11 7:19 PM by likatiga

His statement is either mistranslated or a lie. The knee he hit him with most certainly did damage, there wasn't even another knee after it if I remember correctly.And what's with him getting a bonus? Bad call on that one.

Northside Strangler site profile image  

6/27/11 7:17 PM by Northside Strangler

I wouldn't mind seeing a rematch. Lentz gassed after the first, but he wasn't being dominated. Nothing like Hamill/Jones