Ratner: Silva loss will not be over turned

by Tristen Critchfield | source: sherdog.com
 

Erick Silva's disqualification loss to Carlo Prater at UFC 142 will not be overturned, UFC Vice President of Regulatory Affairs Marc Ratner said in a release on Thursday.

"Based on the referee's verbal warnings and his determination that the blows were intentional and a disqualifying foul, this is not the type of decision that can be reviewed. Therefore the decision stands," Ratner said. "Recently, Zuffa has decided to implement the use of instant replay at all international events that are self-regulated and to encourage all regulators to consider the feasibility and effectiveness of instant replay in the sport of MMA. While instant replay would not have reversed the call in the Silva-Prater bout, we believe that it could be valuable to referees and the sport in the future."

read entire article...

Related MMA gear from the UG Store

 

Break Point World Series Brazil Gi

Break Point World Series Brazil Gi

Only $189.95

Roots of Fight Academia Gracie Jiu-Jitsu Raglan

Roots of Fight Academia Gracie Jiu-Jitsu Raglan

Only $42.50

 

tags: Marc Ratner   Erick Silva (detail)  UFC 142   Brazil   



Get the MMA Underground app. for iPhone and Andriod devices.
iPhone Application Andriod MMA Underground Application

Recent Comments »

joe canada site profile image  

1/25/12 11:02 AM by joe canada

This whole issue and follow-up debate should be stickied as a tribute to the utter uselessness of debating on the OG or UG.In the history of these two boards, has ANYONE, EVER comeforward and said: "you know what? You make a good point. On reviewing the evidence, it appears I might have been mistaken on my previous position. Thanks for the correction!"This place is where intelligent discourse goes to cut itself.

paw site profile image  

1/24/12 11:15 AM by paw

 :(

LayNprayNINJA site profile image  

1/24/12 9:38 AM by LayNprayNINJA

 He was warned, but here is where the issue comes in. Mario speak Portuguese fluently. He even did the fighter rules in the center in Portuguese.....yet he chose to warn Silva in english every time. This was 99% just instinct on Mario's part, but it likely is the reason that Silva never looked up or aknowledged the warnings.

LayNprayNINJA site profile image  

1/24/12 9:35 AM by LayNprayNINJA

 I have comprehension, on a college level, of the english language. You said that it was "his intent to hit the head REGARDLESS of location" as a statement. That directly implies that Silva did not care if the blows landed to the back of the head. That implies you KNOW what Silva was thinking, which is impossible (unless you're Silva or he told you so himself). Had you worded it differently, what you wanted to say would have come out. You didn't, thus we are left with the semantics that you said it wrong. Sorry.

jct71 site profile image  

1/24/12 9:18 AM by jct71

If you had comprehension you'd see those weren't my words. Neither of us is inside his head obviously, but a fighter throws punches with intent to do damage. He threw them with the intent to hit PERIOD. Where they land are his responsibility. It's not the guy on the bottoms fault he got fouled.

hmeboy site profile image  

1/24/12 2:48 AM by hmeboy

Did you read the article, and the decision (to uphold the dq)? Silva was warned several times and then disqualified.If someone is warned repeatedly about committing a foul, but they continue to do it, then that can certainly be construed as an intentional action.

LayNprayNINJA site profile image  

1/23/12 4:59 PM by LayNprayNINJA

 Comprehension, how does it work? Your words: "It was his intent to hit the head regardless of location" You could not POSSIBLY have known that his intent was to hit the head regardless of location. For that to be his "intent" would mean that he was okay with hitting the back of the head, not just "the head". So again, are you E. Silva? If not you cannot possibly have know that Silva had the intent to hit "anywhere". Sorry.   

JimmersonzGlove site profile image  

1/23/12 11:10 AM by JimmersonzGlove

 Ridiculous.

Cyril Jeff site profile image  

1/23/12 10:46 AM by Cyril Jeff

I believe he, or she, doesn't take to kindly to using facts, and or data, to make a point...

jct71 site profile image  

1/23/12 10:42 AM by jct71

So fighters don't throw punches intentionally? LOL just accidentally fired off a few to the dome.



 

MMA clothing and gear
The best MMA gear and apparel on sale now!
Revgear MMA gear and apparel