Bader on slam: Honestly, I was out of it

source: fiveouncesofpain.com
 

As a young fighter in PRIDE, former light heavyweight champion Quinton Jackson developed a reputation for dishing out damage with an arsenal of brutal slams, none more infamous than his power-bomb finish of Ricardo Arona.


http://mmahits.com/wp-content/lg-gallery/Misc.%20gifs/<a href=Rampage_arona_slam.gif" src="http://mmahits.com/wp-content/lg-gallery/Misc.%20gifs/rampage_arona_slam.gif" />

However, when it came to his bout against Ryan Bader this past weekend at UFC 144, few believed Jackson could channel the “Rampage” of old and wow the Japanese fans with another highlight reel slam given Bader’s accomplishments as an amateur wrestler.

http://gif.mocksession.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/RAMPAGE-SLAM-BADER.gif

Midway through the second round Jackson proved his critics wrong, scooping Bader up against the fence and slamming him down face-first to the mat. While Bader never lost consciousness the impact clearly injured him, something he openly admitted to in an interview with the UFC shortly after making his way backstage.


“I knew he was waiting for something," said Bader. "Because he was a little too relaxed right there with his head. He was just waiting for me to knee the head and he caught my leg. He’s a strong dude so he picked me up and slammed me right on my head, and I was out of it, honestly, for a little bit. But I recovered and that’s what it’s about, just staying in there and battling, and that’s what happened.”

“This is my favorite win of all time. Coming in and winning the Ultimate Fighter, it’s not really in the UFC. You start over right when you get in the UFC. That’s what I learned, real quick. I had a couple of losses last year. Starting this year off right so getting a win over “Rampage”…he just fought for the title, Top 5 in the division…so I couldn’t have asked for more.”

Read entire article...

Related MMA gear from the UG Store

 

Affliction Sentient Shirt

Affliction Sentient Shirt

Only $47.99

Affliction Horror Business Shirt

Affliction Horror Business Shirt

Only $47.99

 


Recent Comments »

krept site profile image  

3/1/12 6:13 PM by krept

Tough to see on my crummy comp, but it looks to me that Arona is fighting to break Jackson's grip on his left hand with his right hand until he gets vertical. On the way down, it looks like he uses his right arm to break his fall, connecting mostly at the elbow instead of getting a full-armed slap on the floor. Arona could have started it earlier and rotated in the same direction like Bader did and could have ended up posting his arm as well, most certainly for a fracture. That's why I agree with those who are saying that the onus is primarily on Uke to safely fall. Unlike Judo where ippon is ipon and Aikido where it's mostly practice, these are fights and throws must be expected to have bad, fight-ending intentions. It's like blaming a submission artist if the other guy rotates against a heel hook; being able to fall correctly is a highly underrated ability. In Judo and Aikido, ukemi comes first for good reason.

BshMstr site profile image  

3/1/12 5:25 AM by BshMstr

what?!? where is that in the rules? you're required to be slammed to be fair?please say where you got that, because section 15, xxix covers fouls/spiking...

dudefromisrael site profile image  

2/29/12 4:23 PM by dudefromisrael

Arona didn't breakfall, other than that, good post

krept site profile image  

2/29/12 3:15 PM by krept

Some may not know, but to correctly land you want to hit the mat with an arm or leg right before impact to help break the fall and absorb energy. You can see this with Arona's right arm in the first gif; although it didn't help much he did what he could. The problem Bader had is that he wasn't able to breakfall with his left hand since it was trapped (rotate in the opposite direction than he did) so this option was out. If he tucked and held on, there would have been little space between him, Rampage and the floor so his body would have absorbed the force very abruptly. He posted, probably hoping to lessen the force by using the arm like a pogo stick, but ended up collapsing. To me it looks like a brilliant slam from Rampage, allowing Bader to choose his own fate. He could have easily been KOd without the post, but ended up winning. OTOH, it could have ended very badly. Slams like Rampage's and Randleman's scare the shit out of me.

fightharder site profile image  

2/28/12 4:51 AM by fightharder

Second that. It is obviously ridiculous to blame Rampage for the ''weird'' landing when Bader obviously changed position (which a lot of fighters are bound to do which makes the whole rule in section fight more redundant in my eyes).It was a really strange landing though so i am pretty glad Bader brushed it of without major injuries.And the slam was cool though but i personally thought it lacked explosiveness and Rampage was kind of spend after achieving it.I still think Rampage can be relevant but he needs to join a serious team and get some new trainers (without baggage) to work with him as well.

MMAxNate site profile image  

2/27/12 10:38 PM by MMAxNate

The rule states "control of the opponent." That control was lost when Bader released the over-under body lock and changed position during the lift in order to brace the slam. Bader is the only one at fault for the outcome of the slam.Both fighters would have landed parallel to the mat had control been held throughout the entire duration of the maneuver, it was not.

BshMstr site profile image  

2/27/12 10:32 PM by BshMstr

i'd say, according to the current rules, that it was illegal. i think it's like wrestling....you pick 'em up, then you have a responsibilty in how they land...btw, here are the ruls: http://www.ufc.com/discover/sport/rules-and-regulationssection 15 covers fouls.

PiousDevil site profile image  

2/27/12 8:16 PM by PiousDevil

what?

DMBpig site profile image  

2/27/12 7:56 PM by DMBpig

Exactly

chaplinshouse site profile image  

2/27/12 7:51 PM by chaplinshouse

 had that slam ended in grotesque injury there'd have probably been a rule change.  i think it'll happen one day, hope i'm wrong