White wants Cote vs. Sakara rematch, slams Dan Miragliotta

source: The Underground Blog

In the first round of the final UFC 154 prelim bout in Montreal, Alessio Sakara dropped Patrick Cote with elbows. Cote hung on to a single leg, as Sakara based and countered with hammerfists. Several landed to the prohibited back of the head area.

Cote slumped semi conscious to the mat, referee Dan Miragliotta stopped it at 1:26, and appeared to signal that Sakara was the winner. The Canadian crowd booed angrily.

However, after a short commercial break, Cote was declared the winner, by disqualification.

As is permitted under Quebec athletic commission rules, Miragliotta had viewed a video replay, and consulted with Quebec officials.

As related by Kevin Iole, Miragliotta said he clearly warned Sakara, twice, and was told by the commission that he had to rule a disqualification.

Ordinarily in the event of an illegal blow, the referee would determine whether or not the fighter could continue, and make the disqualification decision on that basis. There replay does not seem to show two clear warnings, and if two warnings were given and the back of the head attacks continued, why was the end of the fight called, seemingly for Sakara?

At the post fight press con, UFC President Dana White said he wanted a rematch.

"That was a horrible, horrible job by the referee," said White. "It's mind-blowing how he could stand there and watch that many punches to the back of someone's head. It's crazy."

Sakara released a statement via Facebook, in his native Italian.

Ci sono momenti dove l'entusiasmo per una vittoria così faticata non lascia tempo per nessuno. Non so se con le parole riuscirò a spiegarvi quello che sto provando..adesso mi viene in mente una parola..Vittoria...nn sto parlando della Vittoria di un uomo sopra un altro uomo queste sono definizioni da dizionari e sinceramente non m interessanno non mi appartengono come non m interessa la parola squalifica adesso. La Vittoria delle quale voglio rendervi partecipi e' quella su stessi quella sulle paure quella sul Dolore fisico quella su un ideale su un sogno..se oggi ho vinto e' perche' sapevo come vincere..conosco il percorso e so che solo tramite le sconfitte puo'arrivare una Vittoria..la Mia che io dedico a voi..ma voglio dedicarla in particolare a tutti quelli che vinceranno dopo delle sconfitte e vinceranno perche'come me nn smettono di combattere mai..il resto lasciamolo a verdetti sbagliati che nn possono cambiare una vittoria avvenuta per ko..

Oggi abbiamo dato 3 knockdown a un atleta che nemmeno Anderson Silva e Tito Ortiz sono riusciti a farlo e questo perché dentro la gabbia stavo con tutti voi .. E lui era solo
Vi Amo davvero grazie a tutti voi Alessio Sakara

Translation by Google Translate

There are times where the enthusiasm for a win so tough leaves no time for anyone. I do not know if I can explain in words what I'm feeling right now .. I can think of a word .. Victory ... No I'm talking about the victory of a man over another man, these are definitions from dictionaries and really do not belong as I am interested in the word disualification now... I knew how to win... I know the path and I know that only through defeats arrives Victory... I dedicate it to you... but I want to dedicate it especially to all those who win after defeats.

Today we had three knockdown to an athlete and even Anderson Silva and Tito Ortiz weren't able to  that.

I really love all of you,

Alessio Sakara


tags: UFC 154   Patrick Cote (detail)  Alessio Sakara (detail)  Dan Miragliotta   


Get the MMA Underground app. for iPhone and Andriod devices.
iPhone Application Andriod MMA Underground Application

Recent Comments »

Dallas Winston site profile image  

11/20/12 11:54 AM by Dallas Winston

To answer your question, "intention" is what determines a NC (unintentional) vs. a DQ (intentional).

joe canada site profile image  

11/19/12 10:00 PM by joe canada

George:1) According to some UGers, you can hear the warning on the PPV2) There's no stipulation for warning in the Unified Rules. If there were, it would essentially mean a few free shots to the back of the head until you get the warning.Not sure what the litmus test is for DQ or NC, but I'd have to think that if this doesn't qualify as a DQ, then no series of strikes to the back of the head were.These were repeated, deliberate blows to the back of the head that clearly and obviously stopped the fight. Some will say Cote was on the way out, but on the way out isn't out. Others will say Cote was working a single to avoid taking more damage. Either way, it was clearly the shots to the back of the head that finished this fight.

georgejonesjr site profile image  

11/19/12 7:10 PM by georgejonesjr

Even if only 2 or 3 were back of the head, that's enough to make it a NC. Don't think it should be a DQ.If you start allowing fighters to win after 2 or 3 illegal shots, the logical strategy is to eye gouge twice (say on the ground, where its pretty easy to do), and then when the guy can't see, finish the fight. But unless he was warned the shots were back of the head, shouldn't be a DQ. So yeah, definitely a NC, but not a DQ.

joe canada site profile image  

11/19/12 6:59 PM by joe canada

http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x67pqu_operaman2_fun#.UKrGwXy9KK0Lupo: Vid at. 1:20 for your boy and his team. :)

crankn101 site profile image  

11/19/12 6:48 PM by crankn101

2 illegal shots and the others were legit, but this would all be a non issue if Cote wasnt so damned handsome.

Olive Garden Table For One site profile image  

11/19/12 6:31 PM by Olive Garden Table For One

Joe CANADA can hardly be unbiased in a matter such as this. 

joe canada site profile image  

11/19/12 6:16 PM by joe canada

Think I'm going to spend a good part of the night posting "Yamasaki was right!" all over the DQ threads.I remember the OG shitting all over him for that call a while back, and now we're shitting on Dan for not making that call quickly enough.Vindication.

Olive Garden Table For One site profile image  

11/19/12 5:11 PM by Olive Garden Table For One

Big Dan reversed himself when he heard the boos. Not a pro move. I see 2 bad shots and 7 legit ones.

rsbones site profile image  

11/19/12 3:08 PM by rsbones

Hitting ONLY the ear is ok. Hitting the ear with fist while forearm smashes back of head (like Eric Silva did) is illegal, as are these shots where there is an impact in the illegal area.

OmgItsTheWams site profile image  

11/19/12 2:58 PM by OmgItsTheWams

Been saying same thing