Fighter taps out, convulses, wins, & now gets NC

by Chris Palmquist | source: The Underground

In April of 2008, two amateur fighters made their debut in Chicopee, MA. In a bizarre series of events, Justin Kristie locked up a triangle and David Baxter appeared to tap out, then go unconscious as the round ended. Baxter then convulsed, but came to as Kristie and his team were celebrating. After some discussion between the referee and ringside officials, Baxter was allowed to continue and actually won the fight in the second round by TKO.

The story was covered by Underground News when it happened and the resulting thread received over 30,000 views and video of the fight received over 300,000 views on Youtube when it went viral on several MMA websites.

Most of the discussion centered around the referee's decision to allow the fight to continue, whether or not the fighter fell unconscious before or after the end of the round. Today we learn that the Massachusettes State Athletic Commission has voted to change the decision of the bout to a no-contest.

So UG, what do we think? Is a no-contest the right decision, or should have Justin Kristie been given the win? Watch the video again and decide for yourself.


tags: Justin Kristie   David Baxter      video   


Get the MMA Underground app. for iPhone and Andriod devices.
iPhone Application Andriod MMA Underground Application

Recent Comments »

Haulport site profile image  

12/13/12 11:29 PM by Haulport

That wasn't a tap. He was trying to hit his ribs as he was going unconscious so it looks weird because he couldn't make a fist. Seen that a thousand times - in person and on tv. Fight should have been ruled a Technical Submission because he was knocked unconscious. Period.

Rear Naked Chode site profile image  

12/13/12 10:05 PM by Rear Naked Chode

Truly mind bottling.

sitchpack site profile image  

12/13/12 9:45 PM by sitchpack

And surely if a fighter doesnt recover in time for the count to the next round (which he would not of) then surely that means he loses? You cant just give someone ample time to recover because they got choked out at the end of a round and want to continue fighting.

sitchpack site profile image  

12/13/12 9:39 PM by sitchpack

Was the ref Cecil Peoples in disguise?

MisterFixit site profile image  

12/13/12 9:29 PM by MisterFixit

Thank god for the quick decisive determination by the athletic commission.

patches site profile image  

12/13/12 9:21 PM by patches

W T F did i just watch ??? What A Joke ....that fight shoulda never continued. that other dude got facked

dta316 site profile image  

12/13/12 9:07 PM by dta316

Everyone knows this fight was back in the 90's when they had double elimination tournaments!

Diaz50-43Failure site profile image  

12/13/12 5:42 PM by Diaz50-43Failure


DangadaDangJDJ site profile image  

12/13/12 4:11 PM by DangadaDangJDJ

That's because it has been changed. Not a big deal, I was just sayin'.

catgobling site profile image  

12/13/12 4:02 PM by catgobling

man if i win a cage fight(or think i do) im gonna do a huge celebration and probably dump all my energy getting worked up with my cornermen. having to continue after that would really blow