Jessamyn Duke camp to contest Nakamoto KO

 

Miriam Nakamoto and Jessaymn Duke fought near the top of the undercard at Friday's Invicta FC 5. Early in the first, Muay Thai world champion Nakamoto secured an underhook and outside, landed two brutal knees, and referee 'Big' John McCarthy stopped the fight.

However, the second knee landed while Duke was down, a cardninal violation of the Unified Rules. McCarthy explained that he ended the fight after the first knee, calling the contest for Nakamoto.

Duke's trainer and owner of the AFS Academy Scott Elliott is protesting the decision, as he explains to The Underground.

Nakamoto's illegal knee vs. Jessamyn Duke

From: Scott Elliott
Edited: 04/07/13 1:22 AM
Member Since: 1/1/01

This happened this weekend on the Invicta card. Maybe I'm blind, but that knee looks illegal as s---. She was stunned off the first knee, Big John is keeping an eye on her, Nakamoto throws the second, illegal knee and THEN he steps in to stop the fight. After the fight, John tried to say that he called the fight after the first knee.

What SHOULD have happened is the fighters broke up, a point taken away from Nakamoto, Duke be given her 5 minutes to recover and then the fight restarted. Instead, however, Nakamoto was given the win via TKO and awarded knockout of the night.

Some are trying to argue that she was out after the first knee. First of all, that's irrelevant. If she was out, the fight should have been stopped right then. Obviously, Big John did not move in to stop the fight after that first knee BECAUSE SHE WAS NOT OUT. It was only after the second knee that he actually moves in to stop the fight. Furthermore, it's still irrelevant because at that moment, the fight was STILL ON and she throws the illegal knee to a grounded opponent!!

Notice in the video how Nakamoto reacts knowing she made an error in throwing the knee.

Obviously we are contesting this and appealing with the athletic commission.

Read entire thread...
 

MMA gear now available at the UG Store

 

RYU Signature Tee LE

RYU Signature Tee LE

Only $49.99

JAKKS Pacific Exclusive Series 0 (Zero) Frank Mir Action Figure

JAKKS Pacific Exclusive Series 0 (Zero) Frank Mir Action Figure

$11.99 $5.99

 


Recent Comments »

LM76 site profile image  

5/14/13 5:54 PM by LM76

Good to hear it was overturned

Card site profile image  

5/14/13 4:54 PM by Card

Great news... voted up.

TheMagicDonJuan site profile image  

5/14/13 4:14 PM by TheMagicDonJuan

It is official the decision has been overturned by the Missouri Office of Athletics. She now gets to keep her undefeated record intact at 2-0-0 (1NC). <br /><br />Here is the latest information on the situation. She will be on the BluegrassMMA Live! radio show tonight to discuss on thoughts on the decision:<br /><br />http://www.bluegrassmma.com/2013/05/jessamyn-dukes-controversial-loss-now-ruled-no-contest/#.UZKan7Um2So

caposa site profile image  

5/14/13 3:43 PM by caposa

Just heard on Sherdog radio that the fight was overturned and changed to a no contest.

Big Unit site profile image  

5/10/13 3:48 AM by Big Unit

Agree. Fight was stopped after the illegal knee and not the first. Fighter should have been penalized and fight re started if possible. You cannot reward shit like that.

TheLuckyMilkMan site profile image  

5/10/13 2:56 AM by TheLuckyMilkMan

touching the ground with one or both hands makes you a grounded opponent even if you are on your feet. touching the ground with one or both knees makes you a grounded opponent even if your hands arent touching the ground. thems the rules.if the second knee hit the face then: out or not she kneed her in the face before the fight was stopped and the fight was stopped due to the illegal knee therfore no contest or DQ. big john didnt stop it due to the first knee according to the footage... he just didnt.

mikerobmma site profile image  

5/9/13 10:08 PM by mikerobmma

She was out with first knee and holding her up with the clinch when the second landed. And the second was weak.But hey if the fighter really thinks she deserves a win via DQ or a NC when she clearly would have lost regardless, then that's cool I guess. Do your thing.

Seedless619 site profile image  

5/9/13 9:46 PM by Seedless619

Hope ya get the nc bud.

Ozzabong site profile image  

5/9/13 8:26 PM by Ozzabong

Nate Diaz??

HeHitsMeBecauseHeLovesMe site profile image  

5/9/13 8:13 PM by HeHitsMeBecauseHeLovesMe

Well, maybe not for certain fouls, but you definitely get 5 minutes for some fouls.