Duke vs. Nakamoto declared No Contest due to illegal knee


Miriam Nakamoto and Jessaymn Duke fought near the top of the undercard at Invicta FC 5 on April 5, 2013. Early in the first round, Muay Thai world champion Nakamoto secured an underhook and outside, landed two brutal knees, and referee 'Big' John McCarthy stopped the fight.

However, the second knee landed while Duke was down, a cardninal violation of the Unified Rules. McCarthy explained that he ended the fight after the first knee, calling the contest for Nakamoto.

Duke's trainer and owner of the AFS Academy Scott Elliott is protesting the decision, as he explained to The Underground.

Now Duke herself has announced that the decision has been overturned by the Missouri Office of Athletics, Tim Lueckenoff, Executive Director.

Lueckenhoff based his decision after a review of the video, and statements from both fighters, and officials. Nakamoto said she was uncertain about the placement of Duke's knee, due to the height difference between the fighters, as well as Duke's posture. Nakamoto stated further Duke continued to engage following the first knee.

The fight result is now a No Contest.

Illegal knee is illegal

From: JessamynDuke
Member Since: 6/2/06

Got word today that the appeal of my last fight was ruled a NC due to the illegal knee strike that caused it to be stopped. I'm very happy with the decision and glad it's no longer tainted with controversy!

Thanks to all the UGers that supported me in my decision to contest the call!

Read entire thread...


tags: Jessamyn Duke (detail)  Miriam Nakamoto   Invicta FC 5   Conor McGregor (detail)  Kansas   


Get the MMA Underground app. for iPhone and Andriod devices.
iPhone Application Andriod MMA Underground Application

Recent Comments »

LeastLegit site profile image  

5/16/13 11:21 PM by LeastLegit

Glad that was over turned. Knee was clearly illegal. Am I the only one who has respect for rules around here?

nostripewhite site profile image  

5/16/13 9:25 PM by nostripewhite

Why does no one care about DEM ABS!!!

mikerobmma site profile image  

5/16/13 8:59 PM by mikerobmma

Yes, they did appeal it if memory serves me right. And they had a strong argument too.

Paka Ono site profile image  

5/16/13 8:54 PM by Paka Ono


GSPeed In My Weed site profile image  

5/16/13 8:53 PM by GSPeed In My Weed

I voted him up to counter your bitch ass move

I LOVE GSP site profile image  

5/16/13 8:43 PM by I LOVE GSP

imo, you can't definitively say she was out from that gif , until I see her face at that moment there's still that question. so good nc as far as I can tell.

CH site profile image  

5/16/13 8:07 PM by CH

i dont know she dropped pretty fast after the second knee was landedbut following the rules this was the right callcongrats OP, the right thing would be to allow a rematch

CH site profile image  

5/16/13 8:01 PM by CH

it's against the rules not illegal hahato be fair to your opponent, you were done after the first one who was cleanyou got lucky she threw a second one

T Bag site profile image  

5/16/13 7:09 PM by T Bag

^^ Did jones ever appeal that? I don't think so. We all saw what happened that fight so the technical "L" is pretty irrelevant

Unwariestpickle site profile image  

5/16/13 4:21 PM by Unwariestpickle

That's a tough call, big grey area. On one hand the knee was illegal, but it wasn't really what finished the fight. To be honest and i'm not trying to be mean, but it barley landed. Also i wonder why something like this can be overturned but a fight like Jones v Hamil can't? Agreed with the comment that said we need consistency.