Miller to appeal loss to Gamburyan

 

At the Ultimate Fight Night 26 event Cole Miller lost a close decisision to fellow TUF 5 cast mate Manny Gamburyan. However it's the actions of the referee, not the judges that made Miller decide he would appeal the decision:

Miller told FOX Sports on Monday that he will appeal the outcome of his UFC Fight Night: Shogun vs. Sonnen bout due to referee Yves Lavigne's ruling that allowed the fight to extend past what could have been ruled a first-round technical knockout.

The ruling in question came following the final seconds of the round. As Gamburyan was going low for a takedown, Miller elbowed him to the head twice. That's when things took a strange turn. The horn sounded and Lavigne stopped the action, but Gamburyan did not get up. Instead, as Miller padded his fall, Gamburyan sat back on the canvas and held the back of his head.

"It was just real odd," Miller told FOX Sports. "The referee didn't give any indication the fight was over, he also didn't signal it was a foul. I looked at Manny and then the ref to see what was going on. I had my hand on Manny in a sportsmanlike way to sort of encourage the process and get things moving.

"A referee doesn't have to say if a strike is legal, a referee has to say if a strike was illegal," he continued. "No indication was made, but after the fight, the strike was deemed legal. The referee said it was a legal strike. To me, I've seen the footage and they all seem to indicate a legal strike."

read entire article... 

MMA gear now available at the UG Store

 

TapouT Ankle Bar Athletic Socks (3 Pack)

TapouT Ankle Bar Athletic Socks (3 Pack)

$14.99 $5.99

Contract Killer CK Long Sleeve Rashguard

Contract Killer CK Long Sleeve Rashguard

Only $59.95

 


Recent Comments »

RedDragons site profile image  

10/14/13 3:00 PM by RedDragons

Same here....I thought the way the whole thing was handled was very odd.

JESK site profile image  

10/14/13 2:40 PM by JESK

Thanks

Fobby site profile image  

10/14/13 1:31 PM by Fobby

Just because the situation doesn't happen often does not mean it is not the refs fault. There are rules in place. He is supposed to enforce the rules. In this case, he made a mistake. It is definitely the refs fault.

Sam9104 site profile image  

10/14/13 12:54 PM by Sam9104

Ok.. Manny fan here, but srsly, if those strikes were deemed legal, you should of getting a TKO, especially if he lays down like that before the corner guys and medics starts examine him; if the referee would of seen it correctly from the beginning it would def. be a TKO. You should get this fight at least a NC.

olskool site profile image  

10/14/13 11:40 AM by olskool

The commission met recently. Hopefully they will make a determination soon. WAR Cole

JESK site profile image  

10/14/13 11:01 AM by JESK

Update?

Tat2tillidie site profile image  

10/3/13 10:09 AM by Tat2tillidie

Truth

bubbyDAhawk site profile image  

10/3/13 9:56 AM by bubbyDAhawk

Yes

caposa site profile image  

10/3/13 9:49 AM by caposa

Controversy at the end of the first round or not, I had Cole winning that fight 29-28.

Honey Badger site profile image  

10/3/13 9:46 AM by Honey Badger

Ttt