JDS coach: I never considered throwing in towel

by Kirik Jenness |

Junior Dos Santos lost to Cain Velasquez Saturday night, taking an extended beating in the process. Many times the cageside doctors checked on JDS, twice at the direction of referee Herb Dean, and allowed the fight to go on. In the third round, Dean came as close as humanly possible to stopping it, even putting his hands on the fighters, but by the most razor thin margin imaginable, he let it go on.

In the fifth round JDS secured a Ninja choke, and it appeared that the greatest comeback in the sport's history might happen. But then dos Santos got dropped on his head, and Dean stepped in.

UFC president Dana White was cageside shouting for the bout to be ended, but he is not in charge, the state regulatory body is.

The doctor, the ref, and the corner all have the ability to stop the fight, and no one did. In fact, in an interview with MMAFighting's Guilherme Cruz, Yuri Carlton, dos Santos’ jiu-jitsu coach, said he never even considered it.

"To be honest, I never considered throwing in the towel," said Carlton. "If something like that ever happens, Luiz Carlos Dorea (boxing coach) would be the one to decide. I was hoping for the knockout all the time. In the fifth round, 'Cigano’ went for that choke. Anything can happen. We see a guy lose the whole fight and then win in the last round. It happens all the time. We're not impressed by blood or anything like that, neither is ‘Cigano’. He always fights for the win, no matter what.

"He always tries that submission in the gym, and he submits a lot of sparring partners here with it. He went for it automatically. Cain Velasquez rolled to defend and ‘Cigano’ felt with his face on the ground and couldn’t fight anymore. But even if he didn’t hit his head on the ground he wouldn’t win anyway, it wouldn’t change the fight. He was already beat. We hoped he could land a good punch even if he was completely tired, but it didn’t happen."

"After the second round, he was fighting in the autopilot mode but he didn’t tell me he thought he lost in the second round. But that’s normal. Sometimes you go out with a punch or a good elbow but keep fighting automatically. That’s normal."

Read entire article...

We don't want a sport where it is normal for fighters to get beat up while in a concussive state, as the long term health implications are tragic. Corners need to weigh short time gain against long term risk and throw the towel in more often.


tags: UFC   Cain Velasquez (detail)  Junior dos Santos (detail)  Yuri Carlton   video   JDS   


Get the MMA Underground app. for iPhone and Andriod devices.
iPhone Application Andriod MMA Underground Application

Recent Comments »

Melissa site profile image  

10/23/13 7:54 PM by Melissa

That's actually really interesting, it says all of that was passed in 2009 but a lot of commissions still consider throwing in the towel illegal (it's the ref's decision to stop the fight or not if that happens).  I'm gonna ask a few questions to people in the know as I'd like clarity as well.

Kerouac site profile image  

10/23/13 7:23 PM by Kerouac

I'd throw an ice filled towel straight in the ref's face to save my friend/student/pupil from getting his brain turned into mush.If the ref decided to " foul " my fighter and not end the fight, I'd throw the nearest fullgrown midget/Joe Silva at him.

ausgepicht site profile image  

10/23/13 7:18 PM by ausgepicht

Yeah, definitely not much in terms of clarity on this rule. Wish Big John posted more frequently.

ajl416az site profile image  

10/23/13 7:16 PM by ajl416az

I'm not sure how it works then honestly, that was just my poor interpretation of the rule that says its a foul to throw in the towel, which apparently has changedin until someone one of our posters who refs can explain

ausgepicht site profile image  

10/23/13 7:06 PM by ausgepicht

According to the ABC Unified Rules for MMA: http://www.abcboxing.com/unified_mma_rules.html REMOVED AS A FOUL- Throwing in the towel during competition A fighter's corner, at the Commission's discretion, should have the option to retire his fighter in the quickest and most efficient manner possible, during competition. A corner person having worked alongside a fighter may recognize and accept what their fighter's capabilities are from past experience. It makes sense from a safety perspective to allow a corner to retire the fighter. If there is consideration that debris in the form of a towel entering the ring or cage may contribute to a disruption or confusion in the contest, then colored towels or special towels might be a consideration to be used.    

ausgepicht site profile image  

10/23/13 7:05 PM by ausgepicht

Not disagreeing with you, but curious....if throwing in a towel means a foul, why are fights where a towel is thrown in ruled a TKO instead of a DQ?

ajl416az site profile image  

10/23/13 5:18 PM by ajl416az

pretty sure that the way the rules are worded, throwing in the towel is counted as a FOUL, so when the corner throws it in it is a fight ending foul that rules it in the opponents' favor

ausgepicht site profile image  

10/23/13 5:06 PM by ausgepicht

Like Melissa said it's covered in #13: The referee is the sole arbiter of a contest and is the only individual authorized to stop a contest. The referee may take advice from the ringside physician and/or the Commission with respect to the decision to stop a contest.

ShawnTheBadger site profile image  

10/23/13 5:03 PM by ShawnTheBadger

Valid indeed, in fact it is bizarre that no mention of "throwing in the towel" is mentioned in the Rules. I wonder why this apparent "unwritten rule" is not IN the Official Rules? It's not just the folks on this web-site, it is also DFW and Pat Miletich speaking up in favor of "throwing in the towel" when appropriate.  

ausgepicht site profile image  

10/23/13 4:51 PM by ausgepicht

It's a valid point, but when this topic was brought  up before a few officials posted and said they would unequivocally stop any fight where a corner through in the towel.