Benoit, Diaz, Holdsworth OTN winners

Sunday, December 01, 2013

$50,000 ‘of the Night’ performance bonuses

Fight of the Night*
Josh Sampo defeated Ryan Benoit by Submission (RNC, Round 2, 4:31)

Knockout of the Night
Nate Diaz defeated Gray Maynard by TKO (Ref Stoppage, 1st Round, 2:38)

Submission of the Night
Chris Holdsworth defeated Davey Grant by Submission (RNC, 2nd Round, 2:10)

*Ordinarily both the winning and the losing fighter get $50,000 for being in the fight of the night. However, in a response to fighters failing to make weight, the UFC said previously that fighters must make weight to receive a performance bonus. Thus, despite losing Benoit earned an extra $100K in his first UFC.

The Knockout of the Night was Diaz’s 11th, putting him in third place behind Joe Lauzon and Anderson Silva, who are tied at 12 each. Diaz previously won five Fights of the Night and five Submissions of the Night.

There were also $25,000 TUF 18 ‘of the Season’ bonuses awarded, and all went to female fighters.

Fight of the Season
Raquel Pennington over Jessamyn Duke by unanimous decision, episode six.

Knockout of the Season
Jessica Rakoczy beat  Roxanne Modafferi by TKO in the second.

Submission of the Season
Sarah Moras over Peggy Morgan during the elimination round.