Complete EFC Africa 19 results

Friday, April 19, 2013

Johannesburg, South Africa – EFC AFRICA 19, 2013’s second installment of the biggest MMA event on the African continent, took place last night at Carnival City, Johannesburg. Boasting a full fight card stacked with the promotions biggest stars the crowd was entertained with explosive bouts from beginning to end.

Lightweight athlete Frederich Naumann delivered the Submission of the Night performance, trapping fellow up and comer David van Schalkwyk in a slick keylock.

Nigerian born, Ireland based Henry Fadipe put on a powerful showing against EFC AFRICA’s fastest KO record holder Tumelo Maphutha, weathering several of the powerful middleweight’s best right hands to fight his way to a split draw decision.

KO of the night came from the highly anticipated heavyweight matchup between kickboxing champion Sors Grobbelaar and crowd favorite Wilhelm ‘Tiny’ Strauss, with Grobbelaar demolishing the big man in just 23 seconds with a blistering array of strikes

The main card of the evening began with the hugely hyped matchup between Muay Thai Commonwealth champion Dino Bagattin and Shokukai Karate world champion Tyron Rightford. The crowd was on their feet before the first buzzer sounded, and the strike action that ensued satisfied all. Rightford landed several of his trademark knee-buckling rights, rocking Bagattin on numerous occasions, until Bagattin replied with a right of his own, sending Rightford to the canvas near the end of the second. The ref immediately stopped the fight to the consternation of Rightford’s supporters, giving Bagattin the victory.

Martin van Staden versus Adam Speechly was an incredibly skillful bout. Van Staden’s huge punching power was countered by Speechly’s constant attack and superb ground game, ultimately giving him a unanimous decision win.

The night’s featherweight title fight was the crowning bout of the evening.  Challenger Wentzel Nel was on the cusp of EFC AFRICA immortality with the prospect of becoming the promotion’s first champion in two different weight divisions. Pena, renowned for strategic five round wars revealed a new fighter; blending superb decision making with accurate strikes and huge heart. The action got off to a frantic start with the older Nel blitzing the champion with heavy hands, dropping him to the astonishment of the crowd and pouncing with brutal GnP. The champion showed his mettle, though, holding on long enough to reverse and claw his way back into the fight. The champ was dropped twice more, and after was to admit his vision was blurred all the way into the fourth, but by two minutes into the third round was showing his dominance. As the bout drew into the fourth and then the fifth rounds Pena grew in strength while the challenger wilted, ultimately doing his utmost to simply finish the fight. Pena successfully defended his title for a third time.

Fight of the night went to Markus Taljaard and Peter Nyide for their skillful, hard fought and highly entertaining three round bout, won by Taljaard via unanimous decision.

Donnovan Wilken defeated Nkazimulu Zulu via unanimous decision. 
Frederich Naumann defeated David van Schalkwyk via submission (keylock), 01:22 into round 1.
Sean Robinson defeated Paul Terblanche via TKO, 0:23 into round 2.
Sors Grobbelaar defeated Wilhelm Strauss via KO, 0:23 into round 1.
Boyd Allen defeated Kanyeba Anicet via RNC, 3:19 into round 1.
Markus Taljaard defeated Peter Nyide via unanimous decision.
Tumelo Maphutha fought Henry Fadipe to a split draw.
Leon Mynhardt defeated Johan van Staden via unanimous decision.
Alain Ilunga defeated Wesley Hawkey via guillotine, 03:23 into round 1.
Francois Kabulu defeated Wade Henderson via split decision.
Dino Bagattin defeated Tyron Rightford by TKO, 04:39 into round 2.
Adam Speechly defeated Martin van Staden via unanimous decision.
Demarte Pena defeated Wentzel Nel via unanimous decision.