Did Shogun tap to Jon Jones’ strikes?

Tuesday, March 22, 2011

At UFC 128 Jon “Bones” Jones used the longest reach in the UFC (for a while, a rigjht wrist injury inhibited his right during the fight) plus his knees, feel, throws, and elbows to annihilate now former champion Mauricio “Shogun” Rua in under three rounds of action. The flip side of that equation is that Shogun stood up to a bone avalanche until a liver shot and knee drove him permanently onto the mat.

Fans immediately questioned whether or not Shogun had tapped out just as referee Herb Dean stopped the contest. The implication was that tapping to strikes was somehow dishonorable. The people that mouth that sentiment have never earned the right to their opinion. Had they ever earned the right, by say getting punched in the face by a world-class professional, they would doubtless sing a different tune, through a split but smarter mouth.

So did Shogun tap at the end? You can decide for yourself.

But take from it that Shogun was heroic.