Griffin, Bonnar to be inducted into UFC Hall of Fame this Summer

Sunday, May 26, 2013

The UFC Hall of Fame honors just eight individuals from the 20 year history of the league:
1. Royce Gracie
2. Ken Shamrock
3. Dan Severn
4. Randy Couture
5. Mark Coleman
6. Chuck Liddell
7. Matt Hughes
8. Tito Ortiz

Following UFC 160, UFC president Dana White announced that two more fighters would be added at the UFC Fan Expo preceeding UFC 162 this Summer.

It is widely regarded that the most important fight in the sport’s history, and one of the very best, was The Ultimate Fighter 1 finals, between Forrest Griffin and Stephan Bonnar, on 9 April 2005. Griffin took the unaninous decision, but the performance by both fighters was so extraordinary, that the future of the show – the UFC’s last ditch, double down bet on mixed martial arts – was assured.

Griffin went on to win the UFC light heavyweight championship. Bonnar went 8-5 over the next seven years, including losses to Jon Jones and Anderson Silva.

The bond between the two is such that in 2012 Bonnar named his first born son “Griffin.”

After Griffin and Bonnar, who would you like to see enshrined next?

You can watch the entire Griffin vs. Bonnar fight, courtesy of the UFC: