KO of the Night champ of all time for all time

Friday, February 14, 2014

In 2008, ZUFFA CEO Lorenzo Fertitta famously told The Atlantic Magazine that you can sum up the power of MMA in three words – “HOLY F—ING S—.”

“… there’s the holy s— factor,” explained Fertitta. “Actually, they said ‘the holy f—ing s— factor.’ It happens at every fight. At least one or two times in every UFC show, whether you say it out loud or you say it to yourself, you go, ‘holy s— did that just happen?’ I mean, you might see somebody do a flip, get kicked in the head, get knocked out with a punch. At some point, you’re going ‘whoah, did that just happen? Did I really just see that?’ That’s the nucleus of what our product is.”

In order to compensate fighters who provide that Holy F—ing S— moment, the UFC established Fight of the Night (winner and loser both get award), Submission of the Night, and Fight of the Night performance bonuses.

With the replacement of UFC Knockout of the Night (and Submission of the Night) with two Performance of the Night awards, the number of KOTYs is now fixed for all time. The Fight of the Night will remain unchanged.

The winner is no surprise:

#1. Anderson Silva (7)
Silva also has three Fight of the Night performance bonus awards and two Submission of the Nights, leaving him tied with the all time and forever Submission of the Night winner Joe Lauzon.
#2. Vitor Belfort (5)
#3. Travis Browne, Chris Leben, Lyoto Machida, Roy Nelson (4)

What is your favorite Anderson Silva knockout of all time?