Twitter reacts to Big Country vs. Big Nog

Friday, April 11, 2014

Roy Nelson and Antonio Rodrigo Nogueira traveled half way across the planet, to fight in Abu Dhabi, and Nelson delivered a ferocious attack.

Ariel Helwani @arielhelwani
Ricardo Arona in Big Nog's corner. @guicruzzz loves this. When is the last time that happened?

Jordan Breen @jordanbreen
Nogueira and Nelson look like a bizarre cop team. But not a comedic one or anything. Just a real bizarre actual cop team.

Nick Yidiaris @NYid07
Please save Nogueira's life, Leon Roberts.

Then Nelson earned a knockout, in the very first round.

And Twitter erupted.

Dana White @danawhite
Holy S—!!!!

Cole Miller @colemillerATT
Holy crap @roynelsonmma !

Mike Kogan @MikeKogan
holy f—ing s— Big Nog was out cold great win @roynelsonmma

Derek Brunson @DerekBrunsonMMA
Roy Mf-in Nelson 

Jeff Wagenheim SI @jeffwagenheim
The Roy Nelson right hand that laid out Minotauro Nogueira was impressive, but not as much as the one Big Country didn't throw as a followup

Kyra Gracie @kyragracie

Steven Siler @Stevesiler
Never fun to see a legend like @Minotauromma go down like that but always gotta expect it when @roynelsonmma is fighting, awesome @ufc 2 see

Michael Carroll ‏@MJCflipdascript 
It was Nelson's 6th 1st-round KO in the UFC, tied for 3rd most in UFC history (Belfort, 9 and Silva, 7).

Dann Stupp @MMAjunkieDann
Should've stopped it 15 seconds earlier. Hate to see that. ‏@cagepotatomma 
That was still sad to watch. Nog looked like he was coated in cement.

Michael Chiesa @MikeMav22
Its hard to see a legend go down like that. Big Nog had some big wins in Brazil, won Pride and UFC titles, I think its best he hangs them up

Kenny Florian @kennyflorian
•Love Big Nog, a legend but I never want to see him fight again. Nelson looked sharp. Set up combos with feints & was patient. 
•I say that re: Big Nog out of respect for the man. I don't want to see him get hurt again. Man has given us enough great fights 

Cesar Gracie ‏@CesarGracieBJJ  
Minotauro is a legend that has done it all but needs to retire from @ufc  CTE is no joke.

Guilherme Cruz @guicruzzz
Big Nog heading to the hospital. RT @dudutatame: Acabou de entrar na ambulância e está indo para o hospital 

Ariel Helwani @arielhelwani
Nelson quote via UFC: “For my next opponent I want Cain Velazquez because I prefer to move backwards in calling out my opponents.”

Dave Doyle ‏@davedoylemma 
Seems like there's a split between those who want Nelson-Hunt and those who want Nelson-Barnett. Which do you prefer?