Tuesday, April 26, 2011

The first UFC champion was of course Royce Gracie, who became the UFC tournament champion at UFC 1 in 1993. Ken Shamrock became the first Superfight Champion, by defeating Dan Severn via choke at UFC 6. Severn was again on the losing side of a first, to Mark Coleman at UFC 12 for the first Heavyweight Championship.

Now, for the first time, all seven UFC world champions will gather for a presentation at the Ricoh Coliseum in Toronto on Friday, April 29 at 3:15 p.m. ET, streaming live on the UG.

The Super Seven:
bantamweight champion Dominick Cruz
featherweight champion Jose Aldo
lightweight champion Frankie Edgar
welterweight champion Georges St-Pierre
middleweight champion Anderson Silva
light heavyweight champion Jon Jones
heavyweight champion Cain Velasquez

“We wanted to give fans a truly once-in-a-lifetime chance to see all seven UFC champions gathered together and we couldn’t think of a better place to do it than in Toronto,” UFC President Dana White said. “The entire week is going to be crazy. From the community events to the Fan Expo to 55,000 people at Rogers Centre for UFC 129, I am really looking forward to taking over the city of Toronto.”

The “Super 7” presentation will will be immediately followed by weigh-ins for UFC 129 at 4 p.m. ET.