VOTE: Jones, Silva nominated for ESPY

Saturday, June 29, 2013

It’s time to stay on your ass AND VOTE.

Historically, a number of MMA fighters have been nominated for the ESPN Fighter of the Year, including Randy Couture, Quinton “Rampage” Jackson, Jon Jones, Lyoto Machida, Anderson Silva, and Georges St-Pierre. None has ever won.

Fighters have been nominated in two other categories as well. Frankie Edgar was nominated for the ‘Upset of the Year’ in 2010, and Edson Barboza was a nominee for ‘Best Play’ for his wheel kick knockout of Terry Etim at UFC 142. Neither Edger nor Barboza won.

Prior to 2007, MMA fighters were ineligible for voting, as the relevant category prior to that time was Boxer of the Year, rather than the current Fighter of the Year, which covers boxing and MMA.

Winners to date in the category are:
2007: Floyd Mayweather Jr.Manny Pacquiao
2008: Floyd Mayweather Jr.
2009: Manny Pacquiao
2010: Floyd Mayweather Jr.
2011: Manny Pacquiao
2012: Floyd Mayweather Jr.

This year there are five figures up for the ESPY (Excellence in Sports Performance Yearly) in the fighter category:
Canelo Alvarez
Danny Garcia
Jon Jones
Floyd Mayweather Jr.
Anderson Silva

If 2013 is going to be the year MMA breaks through, you have to VOTE EARLY AND OFTEN: Although FMJ is a strong favorite, if MMA teaches anything it is that you don’t always know who is going to win a fight, which is, after all, why you have it. Voting ends on the evening of July 17.

Curiously, Chael Sonnen announced he had already won it.

Also please share on your social network: Twitter, Facebook, Orkut, MySpacey, MyCrossDressingFriends, etc.