White paying Trujillo win bonus despite NC determination
The Unified Rules of mixed martial arts prohibit kicking or kneeing a downed opponent. However, in the rapidly changing environment of an MMA fight, determining whether a fighter is grounded or not can be tough to figure out with the benefit of video replay, never mind in the middle of a fight.
Adding to the complexity, the downed fighter too has a responsibility not to duck into for example a knee that thrown with legal intention.
Wednedsay night at UFN 27, Abel Trujillo finished Roger Bowling with a knee-punch combination with a knee that was ruled illegal. Referee Rob Hunds determined that the knees were not intentional, and thus the bout was declared a No Contest.
UFC president Dana White had a different perspective, and will be awarding Trujillo his win money.
"Those shots were not illegal," said White at the post-fight press con. "The first one hit him in the chest, and the second hit him in the shoulder... That kid should've won that fight, and I'm going to pay him his win bonus."
comments via MMA Junkie.com