Wednesday, December 06, 2017

Once there were no weight divisions in the UFC. Now there are nine.

Once there were no women’s division. Now there are three. The latest is the women’s flyweight (125) division; it emerged from the last season of TUF. The Ultimate Fighter 26: A New World Champion focused exclusively on the new women’s division, and now that the season is over, the independent judging panel has established a new top 15. It draws from the contestants on the show, and those formerly strawweight or bantamweight fighters who have competed at 125 in the UFC.

The way the ranking system works, a fighter is not ranked in a division until they have made weight and fought in it. For example, on Saturday Alexis Davis fights Liz Carmouche at flyweight. Both are in the top 15 in the deep women’s 135 division, but will not be ranked at 125 until after Saturday.

Champion: Nicco Montano
1. Sijara Eubanks
2. Lauren Murphy
3. Roxanne Modafferi
4. Barb Honchak
5. Montana De La Rosa
6. DeAnna Bennett
7. Rachael Ostovich
8. Jessica Rose Clark
9. Mara Romero Borella
10. Shana Dobson
11. Gillian Robertson
12. Kalindra Faria
13. Melinda Fabian
14. Bec Rawlings
15. Emily Whitmire

Expect more changes as fighters move up from 115 and down from 135, as well as the further signing of top talent at 125.