‘Paddy the Baddy’ picks up incredible win at Cage Warriors 90

Saturday, February 24, 2018

Paddy Pimblett is in the eyes of many poised for international stardom. Those expectations soared at Cage Warriors 90 as ‘The Baddy’ moved up to lightweight.

The main card opened up with the return of Pimblett in a redemption fight against one of Greece’s fastest rising stars, Alexis Savvidis. The first round began with a technical scramble between the two lightweights, and it soon became clear that the fans were watching two of the best grapplers on the continent go head to head. In the first five minutes, both Pimblett and Savvidis tried for consecutive submission attempts which had fans on the edge of their seat until the closing bell.

Round two saw Pimblett jump feet into the air to secure a flying triangle, and finished the fight there and then. The Baddy is back, and he looked better than ever.

Second up was a heavyweight contest between Liverpool’s Shawn Kenny and Austria’s Ruben Wolf. Heavy hands were landed by both men, with Wolf eventually overpowering Kenny and securing the submission a few minutes into the second round.

The third main card fight of the night saw Alexander Jacobsen drop Lawrence Fitzpatrick with a huge shot just seconds into the very first round. Fitzpatrick did his best to defend Jacobsen’s following onslaught, but it was too little too late for the Liverpudlian as the Norwegian finished the job in 14 seconds flat.

Cage Warriors 90’s main event was a history-maker. Molly McCann, after a hard-fought first round which saw both women swing toe-to-toe to the roar of the Echo Arena’s crowd, finished Bryony Tyrell via TKO in the second. If there was any doubts as to McCann’s potential, they were extinguished in that instant. McCann strapped her newly earned belt around her waist and celebrated in front of thousands of adoring fans. This was the first ever women’s flyweight title to be earned in Cage Warriors history.

Cage Warriors 90 results

Pro Prelims
Andreas Tricomitis defeated Mark Kinsella via split decision
Bobby “The Body Snatcher” Pallett defeated Dillon Manning via submission
Matthew Bonner defeated Mick Stanton via technical submission
Elliot Jenkins defeated Josh Abraham via submission
Main Card
Paddy Pimblett defeated Alexis Savvidis via submission
Ruben Wolf defeated Shawn Kenny via Submission
Alexander Jacobsen defeated Lawrence Fitzpatrick via TKO (punches)
Molly McCann defeated Bryony Tyrell via TKO (punches)