UnderGround Forums

UnderGround Forums >> Dave O’Donnell soars to top of UK MMA, again

3/28/13 1:16 PM
Ignore | Vote Down | Vote Up
Underground Blog
1234 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

MixedMartialArts.com

This is number twenty-eight in Jack Brown’s series of interviews with MMA fighters and personalities, and for this particular interview, we’re pleased to feature Cage Rage and UCMMA’s, Dave O’Donnell.  Please enjoy our conversation below.

Jack Brown: What were your early experiences with martial arts/combat sports when you were young?

Dave O’Donnell: I started training Judo when I was ten years old.  I discovered Jakob Style self-defense when I was eighteen, which changed my whole outlook on life.  I started MMA training in 1995, and I have been teaching MMA since 1996.  My coaching came to an end in 2010, before creating UCMMA.  I wanted to give 100% commitment to MMA and didn’t have the time to concentrate on teaching as well as creating a number of TV shows.

JB: You are well known from your days in top UK MMA promotion, Cage Rage.  How did you first get involved with the promotion?

DO: Myself and Andrew Geer sat down together and thought of a way we could bring MMA to the masses in the UK.  Thus, we formed Cage Rage.  It was a fast success.  Within eight shows, Cage Rage became the talk of the town when we brought over the current pound-for-pound, greatest MMA fighter to date, Anderson “The Spider” Silva, to take on London boy, Lee Murray.  Cage Rage went from strength to strength, and the rest was history.

JB: Cage Rage had so many of today's greatest MMA fighters - Anderson Silva, Vitor Belfort, Bigfoot Silva - compete for them.  What were a few of the most memorable fights for you?