UnderGround Forums

BJJGround Forum >> When do you give someone a blue belt?

7/11/13 12:09 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
SportScience
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 08/04/14 1:13 AM

I feel like I am a blue belt. I have won a few competitions at white belt beating everyone in my division, I have been training BJJ for 2 years now and I train twice a day.<br /><br />The point of this rant is how does your club do it? Time+Performance+Attitude=Blue Belt in my books.

/EDIT/ UPDATE:

So I just to clarify, I am still a white belt.

We have no blue belts at our club and our instructors have never given a blue belt out. There is now a bottle neck at the top of our club because there are a handful of people better than me who are also 4 stripe white belts.

Its gotten to this really weird point, I got another gold medal at a competition two weeks back. One of my team mates got two gold medals at that comp. He won his division and the open weight division beating everyone without a question of doubt.

He was snubbed at the grading we had last week and so was I. I don't want to leave my club and yeah I really have no idea what to do. I checked how many classes I have done and its 266 at this club and I came to this club with three stripes on my belt and a years experience.

A lot of us are all talking shit like a bunch of high school girls but no one says anything to the coaches because obviously we have heaps of respect for them.

I obviously can't do anything about it but yeah this is just an update.
7/11/13 12:29 PM
Christophr

You need to man up and confront your instructor about this. No-one who beats every white belt in his division should be denied their blue belt.

7/11/13 12:35 PM
The Wizzle
31 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Grab it and take it!
7/11/13 1:47 PM
ninja316
9 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile