UnderGround Forums

AcademicGround >> Anyone with a psych graduate degre

12/15/05 5:24 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
WEB
70 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 15-Dec-05

what do schools look for as into getting accepted to graduate school in psychology. i heard of a test like the act for psych. or is gpa really important? extra activites? im looking for some advice from someone who has walked this road. thanks in advance.
12/16/05 10:23 PM
Logic Rules
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 18-Dec-05 05:08 PM
Good GPA, Statistics, and some research classes would do you good.
12/17/05 11:12 PM
DustDevil

Edited: 17-Dec-05
Paging Dr. Ted Bennett! Paging Dr. Bennett!
12/19/05 7:06 PM
ironmongoose

Edited: 19-Dec-05
Dr. Bennett isn't in, Iron Mongoose the hack is filling in. I have a Masters, which is good enough to charter in my jurisdiction. I'm not sure where you're at right now, so it's tricky for me to know what to tell you. Usually your department has an undergrad association that will hold seminars, give you some direction on this...? My school had the option of a thesis-based Bachelors, which I took. They also had an optional internship program, which I didn't take. It's alright, I got a good research assistant job after, which amounts to the same thing. Most schools will want your GRE General and your GRE Psychology. GRE Psychology is just multiple choice crap like early undergrad. I studied for it by reading my entry-level textbook. GRE General, you'll wanna prepare for with vocabulary lists and logic puzzles. Volunteering in clinical settings will not only give you good padding on the CV, and good letters of reference, but also a sense of what areas you're interested in. Depending on where you apply, a big part of it may be scouting websites for prospective supervisors, looking up everything they wrote, and emailing them with research proposals. If they like what you have