UnderGround Forums

Jen >> Back problems from sitting...

3/27/07 6:53 AM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
SnoopBJJ
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 27-Mar-07 08:25 AM

Hi Bolo and anyone else than can help, I have recently discovered that sitting down all day at work is affecting my back way more than my training. I have been suffering from low back pain for a while now, and finally decided to do something about it by seeing a physio last week. I train in JKD, Kali, Silat and BJJ about 3 to 4 times a week. When I am not training, I work in IT and sit in front of a computer for 8 to 9 hours a day. The physio looked at my posture and thought I was right handed. I am left handed. He later said that it was the way I sit in front of the desk and my posture that was killing my back. My training is not the problem. I believe I have a tendency to lean on the right side when I sit and also when I stand. This is a causing a dull ache in my lower back down to the hip. I have followed the physios advice and and conditioning myself to sit properly inn front of my desk, and it is more difficult than it looks! I have done it for a day now, and my mid to upper back/lats feel very achy at the moment. I'm not sure if this is to due to training, or my back not being used to how I sit. I am having to sit up every 15 minutes or so back my back feels stiff. I have been reading about posture alignment on this forum and also the S&C forum, and I believe this may help cure my back problems. Has anyone got any recommendations on what books to read? Are Escogue's books any good, as I hear that name when it comes to this area of study? Also, would sitting on a swiss ball at home when in front of the computer help prevent slouching?
3/28/07 1:32 AM
Bolo

Edited: 28-Mar-07 01:58 AM