UnderGround Forums

Hunting & Fishing Ground >> Boar hunting trips in summer/fall?

4/30/07 1:51 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
Willybone
391 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 30-Apr-07 01:55 PM

Gents,
A friend of mine and I would like to do a boar hunt, but we're not sure where to go. We'd like to go in the late summer or early fall. Neither of us has blackpowder or (good enough) bows, so it'd have to be shotgun. Distance isn't an issue, as we can fly anywhere and rent a car.
Can anyone give a recommendation? States? Guides? Package deals?

I'm brand new to hunting, but I'm very psyched about getting started.
5/3/07 8:52 AM
Willybone
391 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 03-May-07
I found a few online that look promising.
Pennsylvania - http://www.hunt-tioga.com/index.html
North Carolina - http://www.chestnuthuntinglodge.com/
Tennessee - http://www.wildernesshuntinglodge.com/

All seem to run about $600-$700 for a whole deal. We're definitely trying to avoid the "pig in a pen" hunt, and I'd rather not be doing a lodge at all, but I can't think of another way that I'm going to learn how to hunt.
5/6/07 8:22 AM
jscorbett
24 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 06-May-07
If I were paying for a hunt during that time, I would definitely go to a cooler area than south GA or FL. Probably some of those listed above would work well. Checking references would be good, too, to make sure that the hunts aren't canned. I spend well over $1,000 on my hunting and only took 1 hog this past season (the drought took them back deep into the swamp), so, putting it altogether for a successful hunt can't be a bad idea.
6/22/07 11:56 AM
SMS
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 22-Jun-07
Brady Ranch in South Florida is awesome for boar hunts....they have a website as well