UnderGround Forums

S&C UnderGround >> No improvement pretty much ever

5/1/07 1:27 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
orcus
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 01-May-07

I'm pretty frustrated. Here's a long post why: I've been working out somewhat regularly for 20 years and very regularly for about 5 years. But aside from those initial gains way back at the dawn of time, I have put virtually no weight on any of my lifts ever since. Going off those "exercise standards" charts posted at t-nation and westside and various, I'm between "Novice" (never touched a barbell) and "Intermediate" (been working out for 3-4 months) on pretty much everything except bench, which, ironically, is really low on my priorities (I mainly want good numbers on deadlift, military press, and squat). Not what you want to see when you've been working out for decades. My poundages are pretty pathetic on most things. I'm about 10-15 pounds heavier than when I started, and my weight has been pretty much perfectly stable for about 10 years. I'm skinny, but appear reasonably fit aside from my pipecleaner calves. My main goal has been to get stronger, not bigger. I don't care if I get bigger, and in fact, don't particularly want to. My workout for the past few months has been alternating the following two workouts, three days a week (so that one week will be 1-2-1, the next will be 2-1-2): 1 - Deadlift, Military Press, Curls & Triceps pushdowns (the latter two I added because my arms look disproportionately skinny for my torso; it's my one concession to bodybuilding-type stuff) 2 - Bench Press, Squat, Pendlay Row, plus one other that I feel like doing that day All exercises I do for 5x5, alternating sets of two different exercises (deadlift/press, bench/squat). 90 seconds between sets. For a year or so before this routine, I did a modified version of Scrapper's workout #1, with weighted dips and pullups for example. (and more reps on the pullups) Before that I did Pavel's powe