UnderGround Forums
 

Hunting & Fishing Ground >> Scope problem

| Share | Email | Subscribe | Check IPs

5/23/07 11:13 AM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
Willybone
613 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 23-May-07 11:17 AM
Member Since: 01/01/2001
Posts: 27433
 
I've got my grandfather's old bolt action 22 (Winchester model 69), with a Weaver scope on it. Monday night, my friend and I took it to the range to try and sight in the scope, but couldn't get it right.
It was shooting high and right, but we could only get it marginally closer to center. It's so far off, the adjusting screws can't bring it to center. We corrected the right drift a little, but the elevation is still waaaay off and the screw won't even turn anymore in the right direction.

So, how do you correct something that's gone so off you can't use the adjusting screws? Do I need the scope remounted? It's consistently shooting about 3 inches high and right at 50 feet, but groups quite nicely.
5/24/07 4:13 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
Robert Wynne
103 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 24-May-07
Member Since: 01/01/2001
Posts: 2338

i'd reccomend taking it off,cleaning and then remounting.

5/25/07 10:32 AM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
StephenL
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 25-May-07
Member Since: 04/01/2002
Posts: 14776
do bore sights work? one reason that i've never scoped a gun. too many things go wrong. stephen
5/25/07 11:44 AM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
Willybone
613 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 25-May-07
Member Since: 01/01/2001
Posts: 27474
I've heard good things about bore sights, and they're pretty cheap. I think after cleaning and remounting, I'll start with a bore site at home and then fine tune it at the range.
5/28/07 7:55 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
Bob Sacamano
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 28-May-07
Member Since: 06/26/2005
Posts: 12719
Some scopes just won't sight in.
5/29/07 11:22 AM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
Bob Sacamano
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 29-May-07
Member Since: 06/26/2005
Posts: 12726
I would try to remount and if that doesn't work, get a new one.

| Share | Email | Subscribe | Check IPs

Reply Post

You must log in to post a reply. Click here to login.