UnderGround Forums

AcademicGround >> Catching Up on Accounting

6/26/07 11:42 AM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
El Maquina
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 26-Jun-07

It's been 8 years since I graduated college. I'm going back to finish up an accounting degree. The problem is that one class builds upon the other and I've probably forgotten most of what I learned those many years ago. Anyone else been in a situation like this? What did you do? I'm gonna borrow a textbook from the professor and try to catch myself back up.
6/26/07 3:59 PM
Liyon
114 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 26-Jun-07
How soon are you going back to school? What class do you think you are going to start off with? I suggest getting Schaum's Outlines for Principles of Accting 1 and 2. And complete it over the next month or two. Depending on your scedule, you can do 2-3 chapters a week. Trying to read the textbook is going to be a nightmare. Schaum's Outlines also carries books for the other major classes such as cost accting, Intermediate accting, etc..., so you can use those while you take the classes.
6/27/07 12:15 AM
AaronU

Edited: 27-Jun-07
What classes have you finished prior? The little details may have changed some, but as long as you understand the big picture you will be fine. I think maybe intro and intermediate build on each other, but the rest really don't at all (tax, audit, FS analysis, etc.)
6/27/07 10:22 AM
El Maquina

I'll be starting ACCT 300 at the end of this August. I already have ACCT 200, 201, and 315 under my belt. Thanks Liyon, I'll see if I can find that at Barnes and Noble. Aaron, at this point I think I may have lost the big picture, lol. Are both of you guys accountants? How do you like your jobs?
6/27/07 6:01 PM
AaronU