UnderGround Forums

AcademicGround >> Anyone work in Psychology?

7/10/07 5:25 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
mendelson
91 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 10-Jul-07

Hello Everyone! I am currently a graduate student earning my Masters Degree in Psychology. I am interested in becoming a licensed Psychotherapist after I finish my Master's, and I am unsure how to go about doing this. I am planning on continuing through my Doctoral Degree, so I would like to get into the field to start building my resume. I am currently a teacher so I would not mind teaching undergrad courses once I finish my masters. I am just kinf of testing the waters to build some contacts right now. Do any of you know what steps I can take to make forward progress? Any advice you guys can give me is greatly appreciated. Thanks. -rich mendelson
7/11/07 11:16 AM
Ted Bennett
212 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 11-Jul-07

Hmmm....where to start ;-)

1. If you are about to finish a master's degree, you can probably do therapy, at least in most states, though in many you will have to do so under some kind of supervisor. It depends if you want to hang out a shingle on go on your own or join an established practice or hospital, etc. Check out your state's psychology board to see what licensing requirements there are, if any (e.g., some states will not give a license to folks with a MA/MS only, although you can still be a therapist in most hospitals.

2. If you want to go on and get a Ph.D. or Psy.D., be careful where you apply - some sites will make you re-do most of your courses and even your thesis (if you did one), some won't.

3. About teaching - if you go to a university and start a doctoral program, you could probably teach from day one, at most universities they're usually begging for enough teachers.