UnderGround Forums

TMA UnderGround >> at a TMA crossroads

| Share | Email | Subscribe | Check IPs

7/27/07 12:41 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
twinkletoesCT
52 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 27-Jul-07
Modern Self-Defense Center

I am at a significant crossroads in my training and teaching. I'm sure others here have been in the same place, so I am offering up my situation and welcoming feedback. FRAT WARNING * FRAT WARNING * FRAT WARNING I grew up in TMA. I have 19 years experience training and teaching Kenpo Karate at a reputable and unaffiliated school (no organizations involved). I am the youngest instructor at my school to reach 4th dan (few instructors of any age have progressed that far in our school). I have been teaching there for many years and am one of the seniormost instructors. The school is also very into Modern Arnis. I too trained it for about a decade and earned my Lakan (black belt) from Prof. Remy Presas in the year before he passed away. Additionally, I have trained in numerous other TMA styles, and hold a variety of kyu rankings. Now, in 1997 I began training BJJ, and was hooked. To make a long story short, I'm a purple belt now and have been teaching under Roy Harris' association since 2002. I'm also a Level 1 JKD instructor under Roy, and am pursuing ranks in Boxe Francaise Savate and Kalis Ilustrisimo. Originally, I taught BJJ and JKD out of the Kenpo school where I have taught & trained all these years. Two years ago I moved my programs into their own facility, and tapered off my time at the Kenpo school. In the last year, I have stopped teaching TMA entirely and only teach BJJ, JKD, & MMA. I have left my relationship with the Kenpo school in limbo. They hope to see me return soon, because I am one of the seniormost instructors. I really miss the people from the Kenpo and Arnis training, but I do not miss the training. I had hoped, for a time, that my senior posit