UnderGround Forums

AcademicGround >> Grad school advice

9/12/07 8:08 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
Pustak
46 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 12-Sep-07

FRAT WARNING I'm finally wrapping up my undergraduate degree and beginning to think about grad school. not sure yet what to do about that, so i'm just looking for OG input, which is always valuable, if flippant. here's the deal: i'm 26 years old, and will graduate this winter with a BA in history. i've got a pretty spotty academic record, especially my first time around in school. i attended UMass for two years straight out of high school before flunking out. (underachievement is a pretty consistent thread through my academic career: i graduated high school with a 2.5 GPA, but scored a 1460 on the SATs(800V/660M)) i then lined up a pretty respectable job(911 operator), and stuck with it for about 3 years. i'd get goo references from those folks if i asked for them. after a while i started to burn out on the constantly ringing phones and the dead people. i also realized that, while i still don't know what to do with my life, whatever it is will require higher education. i returned to UMAss, taking advantage of a program there which let me keep the credits i'd already earned, but begin again with a clean slate of a GPA. after my return i still had some ups-and-downs academically, but overall made much better progress. about a year ago, however, about a year ago i hit the same wall i had the first time around. this time i was not content to let myself go off the rails, and sought out some professional help. after a battery of tests i was diagnosed with previously unrecognized ADHD, as well as related clinical depression. with medication and a new awareness, i'm on track to finish out my last three semesters with straight A's or very close to it. unfortunately, because of my university's policy regarding study abroad (i'll graduate in absentia