UnderGround Forums

TMA UnderGround >> Chang Tung Sheng Tai Chi

12/10/07 6:27 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
oblongo
59 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 10-Dec-07

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yIMZKWOaWPI
12/18/07 9:26 PM
oblongo
59 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 18-Dec-07
I'm far from an expert on tai chi. But it certainly looks different from what little I have seen.
12/21/07 9:38 PM
oblongo

Edited: 21-Dec-07
Again, I really don't know that much about the art. I've it on TV a couple of times. There used to be a group that practiced in a park near where I used to live. The only difference I can put my finger on is that the tai chi in that clip is done at a faster pace than what I've seen before. But there's more to it than that. I can't quite put my finger on it. Some of the movements are different and the mechanics of the movements also seem different, if that makes any sense. Sorry about being so vague.
3/4/08 12:11 PM
WizzleTeatsv2
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 04-Mar-08
That is actually derived from the original Yang style and the form in that video is very,very close to the old Yang forms. Older taiji styles use the forward lean alot. It's only very, very recently that the upright posture came into vogue. Mostly because of Cheng Man Ching and wushu.
3/19/08 11:42 PM
WizzleTeatsv2

Edited: 19-Mar-08
<object width="425" height="355"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/1kl_SL19nKs&hl=en"></param><param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param></object>
3/19/08 11:54 PM
WizzleTeatsv2