UnderGround Forums

PhilosophyGround >> time for PhD for me?

2/12/08 3:04 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
twinkletoesCT
13 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 12-Feb-08
Modern Self-Defense Center

I just passed 6 years since I completed my bachelors in Phil, and now I am JONESING for more. It actually started a couple years ago, but this past summer I read some new articles by Fred Feldman, who mentored me as an undergrad, and it got me alllll fired up to write and study more. I want my PhD!!!!! I want to use the next year to prepare some applications for next January (to enter a program in Sept 09). I found one program (UCSD) that is my DREAM department...all the professors are into Ethics and Epistemology (my two faves). Here's my plan for the next year: 1) Take the GRE's. I test well, so I don't think this will be an issue. 2) Get some letters of recommendation from my old professors (this is probably the hardest part...I should have had them write these back when I was an active undergrad!). 3) Get some letters of recommendation from the middle school and university where I've been teaching in the past few years. Let's show that I've been academically active and that I am an engaging and skilled teacher. 4) Publish a major paper. I have an essay I outlined a couple months ago that would take some major work, but I think I could get it published. If I can get work published, I think this gives me an edge. 5) Read as much as I can find. It's time to brush up on all my old materials, and a lot of new ones. I really want to do this. Anyone have suggestions? ~Chris
2/13/08 12:05 AM
thesleeper
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 13-Feb-08
Figure out some way to get some facetime with your profs (for the letters of rec). Audit a class, go to their conferences, etc.
2/13/08 2:24 PM
twinkletoesCT