UnderGround Forums

MotorGround >> Novice Rider! Needs Help!!

2/14/08 9:31 AM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
ChangoBravo
11 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 14-Feb-08 09:37 AM

I would like to get some advice from experienced motorcycle riders. I am a novice rider (enrolled in MSF beginner course) and would like to purchase a new or used bike. I have done due diligence and read books and internet reviews about "beginner" or "starter" motorcycles. Here is the rub. Most reccomend a 250-400cc new/used bike as a starter because of weight and handling and power. I am 5'11 and weigh 275lbs. Powerlifter type build. On all these smallish bikes, I look like one of those circus bears on a tricycle! Should I just suck it up and ride a Rebel 250 for 6mos-1 year and look foolish, but be safe or is there a safe larger bike to start with?? I am looking for a ctuiser type bike, not a crotch rocket and definately not an off road bike Thanks to all for your time. Chango
2/14/08 11:13 AM
big_slacker
27 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 14-Feb-08 11:18 AM
I think the 250cc bikes get recommended as the sportbike starting size, not cruisers. Cruisers have much less power and much more weight. In your case if you're gonna go cruiser I would recommend a used honda shadow 750 or something similar. A friend of mine (who convinced me to take the MSF) had one as a first bike and he said it was perfect to start on. The power is acceptable but not overwhelming, the ride height is low so no tipovers. And the ergos are good. I'm your same height (although 100 lbs lighter!) and sat on one. Bar reach is good, not too heavy, good balance, comfy seat, etc... Go to the dealership and sit on one, see what you think. BTW-Powerlifting has saved the day several times in my motorcyling career. A couple low speed drops have been averted with pure deadlift reflexes. ;)