UnderGround Forums

Weapons UnderGround >> Paintball

4/10/08 10:31 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
merryprankster_au
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: Apr 10 2008 12:00A

Am currently in the process of organising a day of paintball for myself and some friends and it got me thinking.

Is paintball a realistic (very limited) training exercise for a real gun fight (of a similar nature)? I was thinking like sparring is to a real fight.

I have very little knowledge or experience with guns or military type training.

Other than the fact that there is no chance of death (thank god) the most obvious limitations that I thought of are the range and accuracy of guns.

Certain barricades etc.(dense foliage for example) give effective cover where they would not with a real, more powerful gun.

I imagine the range is comparatively close compared to a real situation (due to limitation of weapons, space and wanting to create "exciting"games).
4/13/08 2:29 AM
Skpotamus
49 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: Apr 13 2008 12:00A
The biggest problems with paintball relating to actual training are:

1) the guns aren't even close to a real handgun, carbine or rifle

2) there's no way to carry a paintball gun concealed or even in a holster really

3)If you're doing FoF drills, the guns can break pretty easily and are hard to use in grappling or fighting

4) the balls themselves aren't nearly as accurate as a real gun, you hvae a LOT more shots available to you before reloading and you tend to use 'accuracy by volume" (or at least I do :o)

You'd be better off getting some good airsoft guns, getting the paint pellets for them and playing with those if you want to relate it to training.

Check out Gabe Suarez's DVD's and books for ideas on training with airsoft.
4/13/08 4:45 PM
Kai Tremeche