UnderGround Forums

DantheWolfMan UnderGround >> THE DANGERS OF S&C

3/7/02 8:32 AM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
tmorenz
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 07-Mar-02

Don't get me wrong. I enjoy lifting. But I let myself get too distracted from the main directive. When I started lifting again 10 months ago, I started with a basic routine, got seduced by the lure of "fake" muscle and started towards split routines, yadayadayada. When a brilliant s&c coach (I forget his name, I think his nickname rhymes with "Splickenhawk")told me. "TIM! DO YOU WANT TO BE A LIFTER OR A FIGHTER!?!?!" I said that I wanted to be a fighter and my routines and performance has never been the same. It doesn't make any sense to be training s&c for 90 minutes of low intensity work, when street conflicts (what I train for) last 89 minutes and 50 seconds less. My nervous system ends up saying, "Tim!?!? WTF!?!" and my skill work ends up suffering because I'm overfatigued from s&c activities which were supposed to enhance my abilities, not screw it up. Sorry for the overkill. t.
Tom Campbell

THE DANGERS OF STRENGTH&CONDITIONING!! WHAT DO YOU GUYS THINK IS THERE ANY?? PEACE, TOM
Varley

For one they may take you off on a tangent , in terms of NOT replicating that activity which you desire the S&C for in the FIRST place !! You can do all sorts of exercises , but in the end if they don't directly contribute to your goal , then they were a waste of time . IOW : Train for your event , by replicating that event . Only then will your S&C truly come thru for you ... 'out of the hole' . Also Phil Hughes wrote a great article that sheds light on this . To VERY crudely paraphrase .. Not much good being able to run effortlessly for 60 mins , if you are winded 60 secs. into a fight !
V.
tmorenz

I think the biggest danger is approaching strength and conditioning like a "lifter" instead of like "fighter." T.
Tom Campbell