UnderGround Forums

S&C UnderGround >> Cutting Weight while using Creatine?

6/25/08 1:45 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
SeanQuinn
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

How far out should i could stop using the creatine? Do i need to cut it out at all? I am currently 155 while on it, and am cutting down to 135. I expect i will be trying to lose between 6-8 lbs of water weight to make 135. Any help would be appreciated. I dont normally have any trouble cutting weight, but this is my first time using creatine in about 8 years. Im using EAS Phosphate which is a monohydrate and Purple K which is the buffered or estherized creatine.
6/25/08 3:15 PM
vermonter
125 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Creatine can contribute a few extra pounds to you by increasing the demand for water. I suppose it depends on how long you have to lose weight, and how much body fat you have to lose.

-doug-
6/25/08 4:00 PM
SeanQuinn

My concern is that i dont want the creatine making it more difficult to lose that water weight. If the creatine holds in water, how long before the extra creatine in my system is gone and i wont have to worry about extra water retention??
6/25/08 4:00 PM
C-Hamzeh
12 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

I would definitely cut out the creatine if you need to cut water weight, especially if you will be using the sauna, etc. It's counter productive to be using creatine and trying to drop water at the same time. That's similar to sodium loading while trying to drop water weight (sorta).

Anyway, I'd say cut it out about 2 weeks before the weighin, but this is an individual thing.

PS: Sean, you're 155 on creatine? Damn man, you really were on the smaller side of 145 then? 135 is probably a fairly easy cut for you?
6/25/08 4:04 PM
C-Hamzeh
12 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile