UnderGround Forums

Africa UnderGround >> UG Headed Downward

7/4/08 11:54 AM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
MarkedCard
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

I've noticed that the OG is infecting the UG.  There is now a dearth of true mma posts, and a lot of garbage.  In so far as is relevant here, blatant racial comments galore are in the thread regarding Rampage Jackson's alleged preference toward women---and obviously condoned.
7/4/08 12:48 PM
BodyandSoul

Jesus, one thing I'll give the OG is at least the racism there is a bit more sophisticated. I love the "yeah but she's not really black" rationales and the certainty with which they deride others... by their rules of racial classification it seems they're all pre-1950s physical anthropologists.
7/4/08 12:50 PM
Ausgepicht

I have been coming here for over 10 years, and the one thing I could never put my finger on is how/why racist comments are left untouched.

Is it because the mods are mostly racist?

Is it because there aren't enough mods and they just miss it?

Is it because the mods are too lazy to do something?

7/4/08 1:01 PM
BodyandSoul

First I ever saw of the "She's hot because she's not really black" comments was from that wonderful mod Dr. Diggs. Then he posted some pictures of "real" or "typical" black women.

It seems like there is no consistent standard for what should be allowed to pass. If it were up to me, I'd have different standards for the UG and OG. A lot of OG stuff that is objectionable I think should be allowed to stay up simply because 1) I'm not a huge fan of censoring people, 2) removing posts allows people to think they're the victims (which is the favourite racist strategy these days), and 3) there have been times when things that are not really that bad are deleted. But, there really is no reason for there to be any discussion of race on the UG when it's supposed to be about fighting.

Those are just my thoughts and I definitely know there are other opinions on this.