UnderGround Forums

LegalGround >> What Does "I'm a Lawyer" really mean?

7/22/08 2:04 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
cycklops
316 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Help me understand what it means to be a lwyer. I understand you guys are gonna throw the jokes out there and stuff but this is a serious question so please....

If you decide you want to go to law school, what have you decided? What does a lawyer do on a daily basis? At what point during law school do you start to narrow down what field you want to specialize in? How does that work. I know there are a million different aspects of law but how do you narrow down what you want to do? Does this mean you HAVE to do time in court? Can you get your JD, pass the bar, and never see the inside of a courtroom?

I'm clueless when it comes to this subject obviously so I was looking for insight. Why did you become a layer?
7/23/08 8:26 AM
cycklops
316 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Care to elaborate? Not on the ass raping aspect of a law degree, but perhaps what troubles you about it.

If it is such a brutal profession, why stay? Surely if it were really that bad there'd be another profession that would be more fulfilling. So why become a lawyer and why stick with it? Do you actually feel that you are helping people and that is part of the allure? Is it strictly the salary that's appealing?

What type of work and what type of pay does a person make that gets a law degree from a small unknown school and only graduates at the low end of the 50th percentile? They are still a lawyer so what separates them from another?

7/23/08 12:25 PM
Steve72
18 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

cycklops -  Can you get your JD, pass the bar, and never see the inside of a courtroom?