UnderGround Forums

Hunting & Fishing Ground >> Complete beginner seeking advice.

8/29/08 12:55 AM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
FutureProdigy
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

I have wanted to get into hunting for quite some time now but the problem is, I was not fortunate enough to grow up in a family that enjoyed the outdoors. I did not have a mentor who could teach me the basics about hunting. No body I know, whether family or friend, hunts and or shows any interest in wanting to hunt; and thus arises my problem, how does a complete beginner, with no hunting ties, get into hunting (aside from the legalities of getting your FAC and PAL and licences)?

For example, I do not know how one would find a place to hunt. Worse than this, is the fact that i do not know what one would do if they ever did get a kill (aside from the short field dressing unit covered in hunters ed), or what to do with the meat (does one just bring it home and attempt to butcher the animal themselves, etc).

So, basically... Is there any where one can go to learn how to hunt without having to just head out into the woods themselves ?

Thanks for any input,
Jason

p.s. i live in souther ontario, canada.
8/29/08 10:47 PM
jscorbett
23 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

The best advice I can give you is look for a mentor. Since I am not from Canada, I don't have much advice for the hunting culture there, so, it would be hard for me provide much help.

Do you live in a rural area?

What are your ties to the area, ie, do you have a way to meet folks that could give you access to hunt?

Is there a local sporting goods/hunting store nearby? If so, hang out there, meet other hunters, and perbaps you can find a willing mentor.

Another option could be to purchase guided hunts and learn from professionals.

With a little imagination and perspiration, you may find yourself ready to start on your own.
8/30/08 8:34 AM
MachetePhil