UnderGround Forums

AcademicGround >> Anyone here an actuary?

9/28/08 8:14 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
El Maquina
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

What kind of education and experience did you have when you landed your first job in the field? I have a business degree but that's only the first step to becoming an actuary right?
9/30/08 12:09 PM
fanat

I used to be an actuary and still work with many actuaries. What you need is to start taking exams.

Exams is the most important thing that counts. Go to the http://www.casact.org/admissions/syllabus/ or
www.beanactuary.com and read up on exams.

The fist exam is probability the second exam is financial mathematics. If you study hard and pass one exam, it will show to the potential employer that you are very serious and I'm sure you will not have any problems finding a job. The demand is pretty good.

You could also try to get an internship in the insurance industry.

As far as the jobs, there are essentially 2 path - life/health and property/casualty. I think that life/health is very very boring and property is a little better but that will depend on what you want to do and where you will get a job.

Oh and most important - the job is extremely boring. Sort of like accounting but pay is MUCH better. So if you are up for that the go for it.
10/1/08 9:44 AM
El Maquina

fanat,

Thanks for responding. The problem is that I've been out of school for 9 years now and probably need to brush up on my math skills. While in school, I did well up until calculus. Any books you can recommend to get me back on track?
10/1/08 10:56 AM
fanat

To be honest I don't remember exactly what books I've used for the first exam. Plus, they changed the exams a little bit over time.
They have syllabus and suggested reading for each exam on the first link that I gave you.

For example, this is the information for exam 1.

http://www.casact.org/admissions/syllabus/exam1.pdf