UnderGround Forums

Health & Medical UnderGround >> broken nose?

10/19/08 12:32 AM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
lenox01
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

anyone have their broken nose fixed? i am an amateur mma figher and have broken my nose 3 times...the last two weeks ago (didnt give it enough time to heal).......its pretty crocked but thats not my concern, i dont want any breathing problems later in life........i want to get it fixed and now would be a good time since my wife is due with baby soon.....i def want to fight again but prob not for 3 months......will my nose be 100% by then? will it be more or less likely to brake again? how long b4 i can train again?
anyones knowledge of this would be appreciated..thx
10/21/08 1:46 AM
JasonE
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

I had a minor nose break in 1996. Set it myself, then had the docs check it out. Though they said I'd done as well as they could, I've had a deviated septum ever since, and it occasionally impacts performance.

Getting your nose fixed is a good idea, but I recommend sitting down with a surgeon and talking it over first. The precise details of the procedure are dependent on your nose and what they think it'll take to repair it. If they have to remove a lot of bone, you may be more susceptible to rebreaking it later.

Do you plan to continue MMA competition? Talk it over with the surgeon and get their input on long-term risks vs benefits. They may feel you'd be fine post-surgery, or they might tell you to wait until your fighting days are done.

The doctor will also be able to give you some idea of the full recovery time. IMO, 3 months is the minimum likely recovery time because there is the initial wound closure healing, and then the bone and connective tissues will continue adapting and changing for some time afterwards.