UnderGround Forums

PetGround >> smiley thai: re dog vid on OG

| Share | Email | Subscribe | Check IPs

10/24/08 3:45 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
Dmclat
18 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Not trying to call you out or anything, I am no pro, don't have much experience w/ dogs.

I own a dog, it runs loose on my property when I am home, I only own 3/4 of an acre, w/ houses very close and a main road in the front. Behind me there is woods.

I would be very upset if I was in the bathroom taking a dump and this cop rolled in and shot my dog. My dog "looks" like a pit, though I don't think it is.

Do you really think that cop had the right to shoot a dog on someones private property where he had no more "right" than a stranger on said property.

I ask you because You seem very knowledgable and I respect your opinion.

I understand it is iiresposible to let your dog run loose, but I feel in this situation my dog is trained very well (for an amateur) and besides chasing cats off the property does not seem to pose any threat allowing her to run loose.
10/24/08 4:03 PM
Dmclat
18 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

I just finished reading the rest of that post, and i understand your arguement,

but for now I am a.f.k. till monday!
10/25/08 1:06 AM
smileythai
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

As stated, the argument is not about the dog being loose on her property or the deputy trespassing. It's about him defending himself as the dog charged. Everyone has the right to self-defense.

But if your dog is stable, obedient, and knows its borders then there should be little chance of a LE officer shooting it on your property. Meaning, if your dog keeps its distance or walks up slowly w/tail wagging there's no real cause, or defense, for the officer to escalate the situation unless he's phobic or an asshole.